Tutorials + Resources

Digital Exhibits

Digital Scholarship at UCSC Libraries

Digital Exhibits

Digital Exhibit tools range from simple to complex. Robust and flexible systems can be used to create in depth websites (Scalar) or online versions of a physical exhibit (Omeka). For smaller projects, there are tools that focus on specific ways of displaying the information. For example, we use ThingLink to annotate images with pictures, text, and video and TimelineJS to organize information in an interactive timeline. Join us for a consultation to talk through the options and help narrow down the right tool to meet your needs.

Tutorials

Here you'll find a growing list of tutorials and recorded workshops around digital exhibit software and digital project management.

Software

Omeka - Add Items (Browser based | free and paid versions)
Omeka - Build an Exhibit (Browser based | free and paid versions)
Omeka + Neatline (Browser based | free and paid versions)
Omeka Resources (Browser based | free and paid versions)

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor includes images of art from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. All images are accompanied by metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
To save images, upload your own images, and share groups of images with a class, register for an Artstor account. Consult the terms and conditions of use for more information.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
This database includes digital collections from California's libraries, archives, and museums and contains photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, media, and more. All ten University of California campuses, and other libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state, have digitized and contributed collections.

Creative Commons Search
Search for images and videos with a Creative Commons re-use license on multiple websites

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Tutorials + Resources

Today's Hours

Contact Us

Digital Exhibits

Tutorials

Land Acknowledgement