University
Library

A-Z Databases

eResources are paid for by the UCSC Libraries and are subject to copyright and licensing terms

Loading...

Access Library Databases

On-Campus

Off-Campus

Popular Databases

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Trial
Take advantage the UC-wide evidence-based aquisitions pilot of the full collection of Proquest’s History Vault modules (45 titles including NAACP papers, Plantation Records, American Indians and the American West). Usage will be evaluated in January 2021; be sure to use your favorites. Access will continue until April 30, 2021.
New
This database provides original text and English translation of Greek and Latin literature and includes: epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians.
New Trial
Take advantage of the UC-wide evidence-based acquisitions pilot of the full collection of Proquest’s Historical Newspapers (52 titles including the South China Morning Post and the Guardian). Usage will be evaluated in January 2021; be sure to use your favorites. Access will continue until April 30, 2021.

This database provides current and historical newspapers from across UCSC's collection of Proquest databases, including Historical Newspapers, Ethnic NewsWatch, International Newsstream and others. Access to these databases is ongoing.
New
O’Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is a collection of full-text books and other resources specializing in computer programming and information technology. The database includes more than 35,000 book titles, plus 30,000+ hours of video, learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Access with your Gold password after choosing University of California Santa Cruz from the list of institutions. Replaces our Safari subscription.
Trial
These academically robust online data science courses were developed with data science institutions and social science experts. Online and self-paced, these courses give practical skills that can be applied to social research. Topics include Programming in R and Python; Data Visualization; Social Media and Social Data Science; Text Mining and Analysis. To start using this trial:
1. Go to https://classroom.sagepub.com/ and select ‘Create a new account.’
2. Enter your details as instructed. Important: You must use your UCSC institution email address.
3. You'll receive email notification information to access the courses.
For purchase consideration, share your feedback with us here.
Trial
The Shanghai Library has made available the Quan Guo Bao Kan Suo Yin (CNBKSY) databases on a temporary basis. Make use of the following collections:
Chinese Periodical of Modern China - Literature Collection 中国近代中文期刊全文数据库-文学专题 1872~1949
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 中文期刊全文数据库 1911~1949
Chinese Serial Full-text Database 《遐迩贯珍》 1853~1856
Dian-shi-zhai Pictorial Full-text Database 《点石斋画报》 1884~1898
Sin Wan Pao 《新闻报》 1893~1949
The Eastern Times 《时报》 1904~1939
The China Press 《大陆报》 1911~1949
The Tabloids 《小报》 1897~1949
The Shanghai Times 《上海泰晤士报》 1925~1943
The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury 《大美晚报》 1929~1949
The Shanghai Evening Courier 《上海晚邮》 1869~1874
Shanghai Courier & China Gazette 《中华快报》 1876~1878
Shanghai Courier 《上海差报》 1876~1878
The Republican Daily《民国日报》 1916~1949
Central Daily News 《中央日报》 1928~1949
Yi Shih Pao 《益世报》 1915~1949
Ta Kung Pao 《大公报》 1902~1949/1952
Access will continue until December 31, 2020.
For purchase consideration, share your feedback with us here.
Trial
Email metadata@ucsc.edu for username and password
South Asia Archive provides access to a wealth of research material spanning the Indian sub-continent from the mid-18th to mid-20th century. The collection holds a variety of publication types, ranging from Journals and Serial Publications, Rare Books, Reports, Legislations, and more. From Taylor & Francis.
Access will continue until December 15, 2020.
For purchase consideration, share your feedback with us here.
New
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Loading...
Loading...