University Library
The Grateful Dead Archive is described in detail in a series of finding aids available in the Online Archive of California. Familiarizing yourself with the finding aids in advance will allow you to learn more about what each collection contains and how it is organized, to better plan your research strategy.To find UC Santa Cruz’s Grateful Dead-related archives in the Online Archive of California, search for “Grateful Dead” and limit your resulting lists to only those collections at UC Santa Cruz.
A complete listing of all the collections, with links out to each finding aid, can also be be found on the UCSC Grateful Dead Research Guide.
The Grateful Dead Archive is served in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room on the 3rd Floor of UC Santa Cruz’s McHenry Library. On the Special Collections & Archives homepage you'll find information on requesting materials, reading room hours and location, and access policies.
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA