During Winter quarter of 2021, three CART fellows created their own remote interventions with archival collections in UCSC's holdings:
Joseph Finkel (Musicology) created this digital exhibition telling the story of John Cage's interest in mushrooms and its connections with his career as a composer and artist. Finkel also recounts the history of how the John Cage Mycology collection (MS 74) at UC Santa Cruz came to be part of Special Collections & Archives. He used archival materials and books from this collection, among other sources, to complete this multimedia project.
Anny L. Mogollón (Literature) utilized the papers of Karen Tei Yamashita (MS 465) to create an exhibit exploring "the question of how...how did the author write this? And perhaps too, how long did these stories haunt them before they were set down on paper." Yamashita is an author, playwright, and UCSC professor known for her works of Asian American literature and magic realism, including I Hotel (2010) and Tropic of Orange (1997), both of which Mogollón explores in this exhibit through early drafts, photographs, and research materials from Yamashita's papers.
Eric Sneathen (Literature) wrote this essay reflecting on his time using archival materials, and the distance felt during the COVID-19 pandemic. He used Out in the Redwoods, a collection of oral histories documenting the LGBTQ experience at UC Santa Cruz from 1965-2003, as a starting point in his reflections. Sneathen also wrote a poem during his fellowship, which will be printed and bound, and available in the Special Collections reading room in the coming months.
Echoes of Seema is a creative rearrangement of the Sara Halprin interviews of Seema Weatherwax collection, and includes original musical compositions by Brock Stuessi which he collaged with selections of audio recordings of interviews with Seema.
These audio compositions are arranged alongside examples of Seema's own photographic work, as well as photos taken of Seema and her friends and family.
From the exhibit:
Seema believed in the historical value of every life and, beyond the ways her life intersected with certain historically relevant figures and happenings, wanted to tell her story to inspire others to tell theirs. Sara Halprin, a writer, documentary filmmaker, academic and therapist was certainly sensitive to these wishes and beliefs in the way she went about writing Seema's Show: A Life on the Left. The six audio collages each outline a broad theme Sara and Seema continually return to throughout the interviews: aging, politics, her husband Jack, life, photography, change. Rather than define Seema's life with a collection of nouns and roles, I hope to allow her to present herself through these selections. The segments of the interviews are ones I earmarked as being particularly relevant or personally moving as I processed the collection. The music and field recordings are from my collection of unreleased compositions and recordings that I selected to accompany the text. In a similar fashion, I selected photographs from the Seema Weatherwax photographs and papers collection to provide visual accompaniment to Seema's words.
Curated by Brock Stuessi, 2020 Fellow in the Elisabeth Remak-Honnef Center for Archival Research and Training.
"Archival Research as Penance": The Papers and Library of Hayden V. White
1 November 2019 - 20 March 2020
As a scholar and critic, Hayden White fundamentally changed the way we think about history. This exhibit presents the different sites where White developed his intellectual work and the sources that informed his ideas, drawing from the newly available collection of his papers.
Curated by Christian Alvarado and Patrick King, 2019-2020 Fellows in the Elisabeth Remak-Honnef Center for Archival Research and Training.
This exhibit is on view from November 1st, 2019 to March 20, 2020 in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room.
Songs of Labor & Transcendence: The Trianon Press Archive
This exhibit draws on published and unpublished materials, business records, and personal materials to showcase the breadth of the Trianon Press's publications and how they were made, while also illuminating the historico-political context and the mission of this renowned press.
Curated by Jessica Calvanico, Morgan Gates, Hannah Newburn, and Nicholas Whittington, 2018-2019 Fellows in the Elisabeth Remak-Honnef Center for Archival Research and Training.
This exhibit is on view from June 4th to December 1st, 2019 in the Special Collections & Archives Third Floor Gallery.
View the Digital Companion Exhibit here, curated by Madison Heying and Jay Arms
The San Francisco based organization Other Minds has been a leading institution supporting new and contemporary music since it was founded in 1993. The mission of the organization has centered around the propagation of new and experimental music, primarily by living composers around the world. Inquiring into Other Minds chronicles the evolution of the Other Minds (OM) organization from the early activities of co-founders Charles Amirkhanian and Jim Newman in the San Francisco Bay Area to the organization’s work on more recent OM Festivals. In addition to these high-profile festivals and events, OM embarked on a number of interrelated activities in the promotion of new and experimental music including the founding of its record label, Other Minds Records; efforts at audio recording preservation; and documentation of Amirkhanian’s work as a broadcaster at Pacifica Radio’s KPFA 94.1 FM. The mission of Other Minds is ongoing and the organization continues to present annual festivals of new and experimental composers from around the world. This exhibit highlights the history of Other Minds and its various activities as documented in the organization’s records, now held in Special Collections & Archives at UC Santa Cruz.
This exhibit was curated by Madison Heying and Jay Arms, 2017-2018 CART Fellows.
View the Digital Companion Exhibit here, curated by Gabriel Saloman Mindel
This new exhibit in Dead Central explores how the Grateful Dead invented, improvised, redefined, and pioneered business practices that revealed new ways of thinking about work, about being in business, and about the relationship between creators and their communities. It draws on the newly processed business records of the band.
The typical Grateful Dead show was a tale of two economies. On the one hand there was the massive corporate entertainment machinery needed to put on multi-night concerts for tens of thousands of people, with massive stage crews, concert promoters, sports arena venues, record labels, radio, official merchandise and of course the band themselves. On the other side of the wall was the parking lot scene, the social, cultural and economic hub of the legions of Deadheads who followed the band from concert to concert.
This exhibit was co-curated by Gabriel Saloman Mindel, 2017-2018 CART Fellow, along with Jessica Pigza and Alix Norton, and was made possible through a generous grant from the Brittingham Family Foundation.
Celebrating Innovation and Public Engagement at UC Santa Cruz showcases four collections from the University Archives: the Raymond F. Dasmann papers, the Shakespeare Santa Cruz records, the records of the Feminist Studies Department at UCSC, and the UCSC Women of Color Research Cluster records.This exhibit highlights the contributions these people and organizations made to the university and beyond, and shows ways in which they innovated in their own communities of practice, engaging UCSC students, faculty, and staff along the way.
These exhibits were curated by the 2016-2017 CART Fellows:
Alina Ivette Fernandez
Reading Nature, Observing Science: Examining Material Practices in the Lick Observatory Archives and Kenneth S. Norris Papers examines the Lick Observatory Records and the Kenneth S. Norris Papers through the historical construct of the "book of nature, and questions how science has treated nature as a text to be understood through objective practices of "reading" and which must be carefully reproduced and analyzed through objective modes of representation.
This exhibit was curated by the 2015-2016 CART Fellows:
Activism in the Archives focuses on the papers of Ruth-Marion Baruch, John Thorne, and Karen Tei Yamashita, three activists from the local northern California region. These international icons are united by their dedication to cultural and political activism and their involvement in and/or relationship to the social justice movements of the late 1960s and early 1970s: the Black Power, Flower Power, Red Power, and Yellow Power movements.
This exhibit was curated by the inaugural cohort of CART Fellows in 2014-2015:
crystal am nelson
Melissa Eriko Poulsen