University Library
Submit this Google Form application by Monday, May 6, 2024.
The University Library’s Center for Archival Research and Training (CART) invites applications for one graduate fellowship in the 2024-2025 academic year. The Fellow will be trained in archival theory and practice, make the collection of Donna Haraway Papers available for research through archival processing, conduct research with Special Collections & Archives collections, curate a public exhibition, and co-organize programming around archives topics for the UCSC community. The Fellow will be expected to devote 20 hours per week to CART during Fall, Winter, and Spring quarters (September 2024 to June 2025), and not to hold teaching assistantships or other employment. Partial-year fellowships will not be awarded.
Application deadline: May 6, 2024
Amount: $29,125 stipend ($9,708 per academic quarter) plus in-state tuition, fees, and health insurance for the 2024-2025 academic year. This amount is subject to adjustment based on the 2024-2025 academic salary scales and graduate student cost to attend for California residents, in order to match current teaching assistantship funding.
Number of fellowships: 1
Eligibility: Currently enrolled in a graduate program at UCSC at least through June 2025. (at least five credits, not on leave or filing fee, in good academic standing, within normative time).
Above is a video recording of the information session webinar.
Completed CART Application Google Form
Letter of interest (1-2 pages) outlining your interests in the CART fellowship, your qualifications, and how participating in CART will support your research, teaching, and/or career.
Résumé (maximum 3 pages)
Email from your department’s Graduate Director stating that you will be within normative time and in good academic standing during the 2024-2025 Academic Year
Letter of reference/support from your faculty advisor. Advisors should send the letters directly to CART Archivist Alix Norton at alix.norton@ucsc.edu.
CART welcomes fellowship applications from currently enrolled UCSC graduate students with academic and research interests in arts, humanities, and/or social and natural sciences; interest in learning about and being mentored in the fields of archives and academic libraries; and interest in curating exhibitions and public programming. Applicants should be interested in expanding their research practice using primary source materials in archives and libraries.
Applications will be evaluated for academic excellence, written communication skills, alignment with the mission, vision, and goals of the Center for Archival Research and Training and the University Library, and expression of how the applicant’s work in Special Collections & Archives will benefit the public.
The CART Fellow will accomplish the following over the course of their fellowship:
Process and complete a collection guide for the Donna Haraway Papers archival collection
Curate an exhibition in the Third Floor Gallery space of McHenry Library
Develop and facilitate an event or public program (e.g. guest lecture, reading discussion, workshop, film screening, colloquium, etc.)
Participate in UCSC Graduate Research Symposium in Spring 2025
Complete a brief final report on CART fellowship experience
The Fellow may also create a digital project utilizing the archival materials in the Donna Haraway Papers or other collections stewarded by UC Santa Cruz Special Collections & Archives. Examples of past digital exhibits and projects created by CART Fellows include:
Echoes of Seema: A creative rearrangement of the Sara Halprin interviews of Seema Weatherwax collection by Brock Stuessi
"See you when I see you...": Black Student Life at UCSC 1965-present by Jazmin Benton
Reading Nature, Observing Science: Examining Material Practices in the Lick Observatory Archives and Kenneth S. Norris Papers by Alex Moore, Christine Turk, and Danielle Crawford
The main components of the fellowship during the academic year will include archival processing, exhibition curation, public programming, participating in the UCSC Graduate Research Symposium, and ongoing collection research to support the above. The Fellow will be trained in archival theory and practice during Fall quarter, with ongoing training, discussion, and immersion in the University Library’s Special Collections & Archives department throughout the year.
One main component of the CART fellowship is receiving training in foundational and contemporary archival theory and practices, and putting those skills into hands-on practice by conducting archival processing on collections. Getting trained in processing work with CART builds a foundational understanding of how archival collections are created, organized, and presented, which graduate Fellows can use to improve their own archival research skills.
Archival processing includes surveying, arranging, describing, preserving, and providing access to collections in the UCSC Special Collections & Archives. Fellows are trained by a professional archivist in established standards of the profession.
The 2024-2025 CART Fellow will process the Donna Haraway Papers, including digital files, to make it available for research via a collection guide:
|
|
Donna J. Haraway is a professor emerita in the departments of History of Consciousness and Feminist Studies at UC Santa Cruz, where she has taught since 1980, and where she became the first tenured professor in feminist theory in the United States. Haraway is a prominent scholar in the field of science, technology, and medicine studies; with expertise in feminist theory; relations between life and human sciences; histories of animal-human relationships; cultures of nature and environment; science and politics; and animal studies.
|
|
Born in 1944 in Denver, Colorado, Donna Haraway attended Colorado College, where she triple majored in zoology, philosophy, and English. After graduating in 1966, Haraway pursued a Fulbright at the Faculté des Sciences, Université de Paris and Fondation Teilhard de Chardin, then began a PhD program at Yale University. In her doctoral work, Haraway focused on the historical and philosophical study of biology. In 1972 Haraway moved to the University of Hawai’i to finish her dissertation and teach courses, then was hired in the Department of the History of Science at Johns Hopkins University. In 1976, her revised dissertation was published as Crystals, Fabrics and Fields: Metaphors of Organicism in Twentieth-century Developmental Biology. In 1979, Haraway was hired by James Clifford and Hayden White for a position in feminist studies and science studies at the University of California, Santa Cruz, where the History of Consciousness program was being established.
Some of Haraway’s publications include "Manifesto for Cyborgs: Science, Technology, and Socialist Feminism in the 1980s" in The Socialist Review (1985), Primate Visions: Gender, Race, and Nature in the World of Modern Science (1989), Simians, Cyborgs, and Women: The Reinvention of Nature (1991), Modest_Witness@Second_Millennium.FemaleMan©_Meets_Oncomouse™ (1997), The Companion Species Manifesto: Dogs, People, and Significant Otherness (2003), and When Species Meet (2008).
Haraway’s oral history, Edges and Ecotones: Donna Haraway’s Worlds at UCSC, conducted in 2007 by Irene Reti, can be accessed at this link:
https://escholarship.org/uc/item/9h09r84h
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
The archival collection of Donna Haraway Papers spans over 30 boxes and includes correspondence, lectures and teaching materials from courses in History of Consciousness and Feminist Studies, notes and writings, administrative files from her work at UC Santa Cruz, research and publication files, materials from professional organizations and conferences, audio and video recordings, and some biographical materials. The files range in date from the 1960s to the present, with the bulk representing the 1980s and 1990s.
 |
 |
The 2024-2025 CART Fellow will process these paper files as well as the digital component of the Haraway archival collection, which includes manuscript files on floppy disk, videos, email correspondence, Haraway’s Facebook page, and various websites featuring Haraway’s work. The Fellow will use digital processing tools such as ePADD and Archive-it to capture, preserve, and make available digital components of the Haraway papers.
The Fellow will have the opportunity to meet with Donna Haraway during the 2024-2025 academic year to collaborate on programming and the organization of the archival collection.
The Fellow will curate a public exhibition in the Third Floor Gallery of McHenry Library during Spring 2025. This exhibition will highlight collection materials in Special Collections & Archives, and may include materials the Fellow has processed from the Haraway papers. The Fellow will have time throughout the year to research the collections stewarded by the library, and work with staff to develop themes, modules, and exhibition text for display in Spring.
In collaboration with archives staff, the CART Fellow will develop and facilitate at least one event or public program during the academic year. This could be a guest lecture, reading discussion, workshop, film screening, colloquium, etc.
Some examples of past programs include:
"Tripping on Utopia” and Locavore Research with UCSC Professor Ben Breen - Hands-on archival encounters and book talk for Tripping on Utopia: Margaret Mead, the Cold War, and the Troubled Birth of Psychedelic Science
Echoes of Seema Weatherwax: History, Sound, and Creative Practice in the Archive - Hosted by Brock Stuessi, CART Fellow, with guest Michael J. Kramer, SUNY Brockport
Reading and discussion of "Of Things Said and Unsaid: Power, Archival Silences, and Power in Silence" by Rodney G.S. Carter.
Optionally, the Fellow can also create a digital project utilizing the archival materials in the Donna Haraway Papers or other collections stewarded by UC Santa Cruz Special Collections & Archives. Examples of past digital exhibits and projects created by CART Fellows include:
Echoes of Seema: A creative rearrangement of the Sara Halprin interviews of Seema Weatherwax collection by Brock Stuessi
"See you when I see you...": Black Student Life at UCSC 1965-present by Jazmin Benton
Reading Nature, Observing Science: Examining Material Practices in the Lick Observatory Archives and Kenneth S. Norris Papers by Alex Moore, Christine Turk, and Danielle Crawford
|
|
The CART Fellow will participate in the annual UCSC Graduate Research Symposium in Spring 2025. They will present on the research they’ve done with CART in McHenry Library, either in a short talk, research poster presentation, or alternative media presentation
The CART fellowship award includes a $29,125 stipend ($9,708 per academic quarter) and in-state tuition, fees, and health insurance. This amount is subject to increase based on the 2024-2025 graduate student cost to attend for California residents, in order to match current teaching assistantship funding. We will award one graduate student at UCSC over the 2024-2025 academic year.
We will be conducting interviews in mid-May, and make decisions about offers by mid-June 2024. Please contact alix.norton@ucsc.edu if you have any questions about your application.
Funding for Summer is not included in the fellowship award. The fellowship, including orientation and training, will start in Fall quarter.
Do I have to be an expert or have specific research interests in the subject area of the collection?
While it can be helpful, there is no subject expertise required to participate. We ask that you have some sort of interest and/or experience in working in archives or libraries, curating exhibitions, or doing primary source research.
The CART fellowship is designed to be done in lieu of a teaching assistantship. Fellowship recipients are expected to devote 20 hours per week to CART, and not to hold teaching assistantships or other employment. During academic sessions, graduate students may not be employed in any capacity by the University beyond a maximum of fifty percent service time. The purpose of the University-wide policy is to limit the amount of time graduate students spend on University activities that do not lead directly to the successful completion of their academic programs.
We expect a commitment of 20 hours per week to CART projects and research during the fellowship.
There’s no minimum or maximum word count or page length for the letter of interest. Applicants usually write 1-2 pages, but you should write enough to express your interest in the fellowship program and how participating in CART will help you in your research, your teaching, and/or your future career plans. Your research focus can but does not need to align with the specific collections to be processed.
No. In the past we've had first year students all the way to ABD candidates who participate successfully in CART. We recommend applicants to keep their schedules in mind when applying, and make sure they have the bandwidth to participate for 20 hours per week during the full academic year. Other responsibilities such as qualifying exams tend to take up a lot of time and work; it may be best to wait a year to apply for CART if you plan to have significant commitments this upcoming year.
Not at this time. The CART Fellowship is offered as a full academic year commitment.
Most CART fellows have no prior exhibition curation experience. We look for applicants who are interested in curating an exhibition for a public audience. The fellow will be working closely with Special Collections & Archives staff throughout the year and especially during the Spring, and staff will facilitate the curation process.
Yes, starting in 2024-2025 the CART fellowship will cover in-state tuition, fees, and health insurance, as well as a $29,125 annual stipend ($9,708 per academic quarter) for the fellow. The fellowship award is funded similar to that of a teaching assistantship for the academic year and is subject to increase to match current TA rates.
Yes. You need to be currently enrolled in at least five units as a graduate student at UCSC in order to participate in the CART fellowship, be in good academic standing, and in normative time to your degree progress.
The CART fellowship offers in-state tuition, fees, and health insurance and a quarterly stipend, and is similar to other fellowships and teaching assistantships on campus. If you are selected and agree to participate as a fellow, and you are not a California resident at that time, you will be responsible for all other non-resident fees. If you haven’t yet established residency in California, consider waiting to apply until you are a resident.
The CART Fellowship award does not require work authorization, and you should be eligible for the in-state tuition included in the fellowship award if you are a California resident. Please check with the financial aid office and your division's graduate advisor to inquire about the kinds of financial aid you are eligible to receive, since individual situations may vary.
The CART fellowship is currently open only to graduate students, but we often employ undergraduate students in Special Collections & Archives to assist with public services, retrieving archival materials for researchers, and other archives-related projects. Contact us if you’re interested in learning more.
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA