Skip to main content

University
Library

Center for Archival Research and Training (CART)

Learn more about CART Commons - a community for graduate students interested in archival research.

CART Commons

books

Are you a UCSC graduate student interested in learning more about conducting research with archives, special collections, and other primary source materials? 

CART Commons fosters a sense of community for graduate students embarking on or already immersed in archival research to engage with one another and with archivists and special collections librarians in considering questions related to primary source research practices. Each gathering provides hands-on archival explorations and informal presentations alongside opportunities to discuss practical approaches, questions, challenges, and anxieties about archival research.

CART Commons is open to all UC Santa Cruz graduate students, and is hosted by Special Collections & Archives, University Library, in collaboration with the Elisabeth Remak-Honnef Center for Archival Research and Training (CART).

library

Join our mailing list to receive updates on the next meeting and future CART Commons activities:

Sign up for the CART Commons mailing list      (click on Apply for Membership)

Photos by Clarisse Meyer and Benjamin Ashton on Unsplash

2019-2020 Schedule

CART Commons meets in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room (McHenry Library, 3rd Floor), unless specified below. Register at the links below for this year's sessions: