University Library

Special Collections & Archives

2017-2018 CART Application Now Available!

 

Applications for the 2017-2018 CART Fellowship are now open!

See below for more details.

About the Center for Archival Research and Training

Purpose: The Center for Archival Research and Training (CART) integrates primary source materials more fully into the teaching and research mission of the university by providing hands-on experience for graduate students, while enhancing access to archival collections. Working in CART allows students to gain experience with primary sources and receive compensation at a rate competitive with similar on-campus employment options. CART has been generously supported by the Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor.

Eligibility: Applications are welcome from enrolled UCSC graduate students with academic interests in arts, humanities, and social and natural sciences, and/or interests in working in archives and libraries.

Terms: CART hires on a quarterly basis, with fellows working a total of 100 hours during Summer, Fall, or Winter quarter. CART fellows must be able to work 10 hours/week during the weekday hours of 9:00-5:00 and are paid $18.11 per hour.

Review Process: CART fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis. Applications will be evaluated on the basis of the availability of projects related to a candidate’s academic background and subject expertise, the candidate’s expressed desire to work with primary source materials to enhance their research, writing and/or archival skills; and the candidate’s general level of achievement. Strong candidates will be contacted shortly after submitting their applications to arrange an interview. Applicants will be notified of their status by email. 

Instructions: Submit a completed application form, a letter of interest, and a résumé/CV to: Alix Norton, CART Archivist, Special Collections & Archives (831-459-5113, alix.norton@ucsc.edu)

Applications for Summer 2017, Fall 2017, and Winter 2018 quarters are now being accepted, and will be reviewed as received on a rolling basis. Apply by May 15 for first consideration.

2017-2018 CART Fellowship descriptions

The collections that will be processed as part of the 2017-2018 CART Program are thematically connected by music, and comprise some of our most prominent archival holdings. The records of the Other Minds organization and the Grateful Dead Records complement many of our existing processed collections, such as the Lou Harrison papers, the John Cage mycology collection, the Frank Kofsky Audio & Photo Collection of the Jazz and Rock Movement, and many other art, photography, and literary collections.

Other Minds Records (3 fellowship positions):

Three of the 2017-2018 CART fellows will participate in the processing of the records of Other Minds, the acclaimed San Francisco-based nonprofit organization dedicated to the promotion of experimental music. This collection includes over 100 boxes of programs, artwork, photographs, scores, correspondence, artist files, and business records of the organization. In addition, the collection includes over 4,000 reel-to-reel audio tapes of interviews and performances from the tape archive of the Berkeley-based independent radio station, KPFA. Fellows will work alongside the CART Archivist to preserve, inventory, arrange, and describe this unprocessed collection in order to make it available for research. Graduate students interested in experimental, contemporary, and avant-garde music; the history of American music; musicology; sound studies; public radio organizations; and the creative processes of composers, musicians, and artists are encouraged to apply.

For more information about the Other Minds archives, click here.

Grateful Dead Records (2 fellowship positions):

Two of the 2017-2018 CART fellows will participate in the processing of the Grateful Dead Records, focusing on the business papers and show files which document decades of the band's tours and concerts. These materials comprise over 400 boxes of partially processed materials such as tour information, contracts, ledgers, tickets, merchandise, correspondence, accounting files, and promotional materials. Fellows will work alongside the CART Archivist to inventory, rehouse, arrange, and describe these materials in order to make the collection more widely available to the UCSC community and beyond. Graduate students interested in popular culture, musicology, sociology, art and visual culture, and American history are encouraged to apply. 

For more information about the Grateful Dead Archive, click here.

All fellows are given the opportunity to collaboratively curate and produce a digital exhibit, as well as a physical exhibit in Special Collections, and are encouraged to present their work at the annual Graduate Research Symposium during Spring quarter.

2016-2017 CART Graduate Student Fellows

Shakespeare Santa Cruz Records (3 fellowship positions):

Three of the CART Fellows for 2016-2017 are participating in the processing of the Shakespeare Santa Cruz Records, a large collection of materials that document the theatrical productions of Shakespeare Santa Cruz from 1981-2014. Shakespeare Santa Cruz was an independent theater festival that presented plays by Shakespeare and other dramatists using contemporary methods of directing, designing and acting. This 120 box collection documents the artistic and administrative history of this unique organization, and complements several existing performing arts collections in UCSC’s Special Collections & Archives. The collection includes slides, photographs, prompt books, scripts, programs, artwork, and marketing, development, financial, and administrative files. 

University Archives (2 fellowship positions):

Two of the CART Fellows for 2016-2017 are working with records documenting the history of UC Santa Cruz.

One fellow is participating in the processing of the Records of the Feminist Studies Department, which documents the founding of the Women’s Studies Department in 1974 through its name change in 2005 to the Department of Feminist Studies. This 28 box collection documents the administrative history of a pioneering department, one of the first of its kind in the United States. The collection includes materials documenting the establishment of the program, newsletters, course descriptions, audio and video tapes and, photographs, as well as administrative files. 

A second fellow is participating in the processing of the papers of Raymond F. Dasmann. Dasmann was a professor of ecology at UCSC and a pioneer in international environmentalism. The papers document Dasmann’s entire career beginning as a student of A. Starker Leopold at U.C. Berkeley through his retirement from UCSC in 1989. This 73 box collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, research notes and teaching materials. 

The finding aid for the Dasmann papers is now available on the Online Archive of California:
Raymond F. Dasmann Papers

All fellows are given the opportunity to collaboratively curate and produce a digital exhibit, as well as a physical exhibit in Special Collections, and are encouraged to present their work at the annual Graduate Research Symposium during Spring quarter.

2015-2016 CART Graduate Student Fellows

 

2015-2016 CART Exhibit: Reading Nature, Observing Science

On display June 8 - October 15, 2016

Located on the McHenry Library 3rd floor, outside of Special Collections

 

Reading Nature, Observing Science: Examining Material Practices in the Lick Observatory Archives and Kenneth S. Norris Papers examines the Lick Observatory Records and the Kenneth S. Norris Papers through the historical construct of the "book of nature, and questions how science has treated nature as a text to be understood through objective practices of "reading" and which must be carefully reproduced and analyzed through objective modes of representation.

This exhibit was curated by the 2015-2016 CART fellows, Danielle Crawford, Alex Moore, and Christine Turk. The exhibit will be accompanied by a digital exhibit, also curated by the CART fellows.

 

Summer and Fall 2015 projects: The Lick Observatory Records

The Lick Observatory Archive includes records from 1870-1945 describing the founding, construction, and operation of one of the most historically significant observatories in the world. This unique archive documents the development of observational astronomy during the 19th and 20th centuries, including evolutions in technology, photography, and computing. The Archives' extensive collection of historical photographs includes portraits of astronomers and other prominent scientists, scenes of life at the observatory on Mount Hamilton, observational instruments, celestial objects, and documentation of expeditions around the world. CART fellows Christine Turk and Alex Moore have worked alongside an archivist to inventory, arrange, and describe selected components of the archive.

 

The following finding aids for this collection are now available on the Online Archive of California:

 

Winter 2016 project: Kenneth S. Norris Papers

Kenneth S. Norris was a marine mammal biologist, conservationist, and educator known for his pioneering research in dolphin echolocation. A professor of natural history for 18 years at UCSC, Norris helped write the Marine Mammal Protection Act and played a major role in establishing the UC Natural Reserve System. His papers include field notebooks, correspondence, photographic slides, and teaching materials that document his research, activist, and teaching career, as well as the growth in federal legislation and public policy in the American environmental movement during the 1970s. CART fellow Danielle Crawford has worked alongside an archivist to inventory, arrange, and describe several components of his papers.

The finding aid for the Norris collection is now available on the Online Archive of California:

 

 

2014-2015 CART Graduate Student Fellows

The inaugural 2014-2015 CART fellowship focused on the papers of Ruth-Marion Baruch, John Thorne, and Karen Tei Yamashita, three activists from the local northern California region. These international icons are united by their dedication to cultural and political activism and their involvement in and/or relationship to the social justice movements of the late 1960s and early 1970s: the Black Power, Flower Power, Red Power, and Yellow Power movements.

CART fellows crystal am nelson, Melissa Eriko Poulsen, and Samantha Williams curated a physical and digital exhibit to showcase these collections, and to provide a culmination for their research and archival processing work throughout the academic year.

To view the digital exhibit and the finding aids for these collections, click the links below.

Apply to the CART Program

Download and fill out this PDF form, then send the PDF file along with a résumé and letter of interest to Alix Norton at alix.norton@ucsc.edu. Apply by May 15 for first consideration.

Contact Special Collections

Special Collections logo

Email: speccoll@library.ucsc.edu

Phone: (831) 459-2547

Mailing Address:

Special Collections and Archives
McHenry Library
University of California, Santa Cruz
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz CA 95064