Skip to main content

Aeon instructions

Request from our Digital Collections site

To request images from the Library's NEW Digital Collections:

  1. Locate the image for which you need a high-resolution copy.
  2. In the About This Item section (below the image), click on More Information+
  3. Locate the Master File Name (e.g  ms0020_neg_4804_06.tif).
  4. Open a new tab and login to your Aeon account.
  5. From the left hand menu select Copy/Scan Order.
  6. In the Series/Item field supply the Master File Name (e.g. dc1_474_0004.tif)
  7. Fill in the Title/Name of the collection, Format, Type of Publication, and Project Description. 
  8. Submit request.

It may take 1-2 weeks before your order will be available to retrieve from your Aeon account.

To request images from the Library's Legacy Digital Collections:

1. Locate the image for which you need a high-resolution copy.

2. Scroll toward the bottom of the Item Description until you see the following:

Master file name sample

3. Open a new tab and login to your Aeon account

4. From the left hand menu select Copy/Scan Order

5. In the Series/Item field supply the Master File Name (e.g. dc1_474_0004.tif)

6. Fill in the Title/Name of the collection, Format, Type of Publication, and Project Description. 

7. Submit request.

It may take 1-2 weeks before your order will be available to retrieve from your Aeon account.

Image and Duplication requests

There are several ways to request digital images from Special Collections and Archives. 

From your Aeon account, click on the New Requests menu. From here you can select Photoduplication Order.  Please include as much information as you can.  

If a low resolution image is sufficient for your needs you are welcome export images from our Digital Collections for free. Please credit images as "Courtesy Special Collections and Archives, [collection name]"

The publication or use of any work protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use for research or educational purposes requires written permission from the copyright owner. Responsibility for obtaining permissions and for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Please use the More information + link found below each image to see copyright information.

Requests for Permission

Special Collections and Archives can only grant permission to use materials for which the we (on behalf of the Regents of the University of California) hold the rights. 

  1. Log into your Aeon account
  2. Select New Permissions request from under the New Requests menu.
  3. Describe the item for which you are requesting permission to publish.
  4. If you know the master file name, please include it with your request. 
  5. Provide details about the project this item will be used for. 
  6. Submit your request. It can take a day or two for us to get back to you.

Should the material you are requesting belong to another entity, we will contact you with whatever copyright or rights information we have.  We do not have contact information for many of the materials in our collections. 

Provision of copies of materials in UCSC Special Collections & Archives does not imply permission to utilize materials in excess of fair use. The researcher is solely responsible for determining the copyright status of materials and, if necessary, obtaining permission to use material from the copyright holder. Written permission from the copyright holder is required for publication, distribution, or other use of copyrighted items beyond that allowed by fair use.

UCSC Special Collections & Archives cannot facilitate requests for permission on behalf of the researcher, and is unable to conduct copyright searches or counsel users in the application of copyright law. Upon request, we may provide available rights contact information, subject to the privacy needs of our donors. UCSC Special Collections & Archives does not warranty the accuracy of such information and shall not be responsible for any inaccurate information.

 

Use Public Domain Digital Collections Images for Free

Special Collections & Archives welcomes you to use materials in our Digital Collections that are in the public domain and protected under fair use. Items in Digital Collections are available from the UC Santa Cruz Library and are intended to support research, teaching, and private study.

The publication or use of any work protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use for research or educational purposes requires written permission from the copyright owner. Responsibility for obtaining permissions and for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Please use the More information + link found below each image to see copyright information.

Paying for requests

  • Select Order History from the top menu bar in your Aeon account. 
  • Select Order Billing from the pulldown menu.

  • Click on the check box on the left hand side of the item you wish to pay for.
  • Click on the Pay Online button

On the Payment Details page, review the charges and the select  Pay Now. 

On the next page fill in your payment information. Click Pay.  

Remember, your credit card zip code and billing address zip code must agree.  If they do not, you will receive an error message and your payment will not be processed.

 

Retrieving digitized requests

  • Select Electronically Delivered items from the Order History menu
  • On the next page click on the View button
  • Use the download button in your viewer to download your request

Requests are kept on our server for 30 days before they are automatically deleted.  If you choose the Delete option on your requests it is truly deleted and you will need to place a new request. 

We ask that all reproduced and published items (in print or electronic format) be credited as follows: “Courtesy Special Collections, University Library, University of California Santa Cruz. [collection name]”.