Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives

Reading Room now open Tuesday & Thursday

We are now serving in-person researchers Tuesday and Thursday, between 1:00pm and 4:00pm. We highly recommend making an appointment in advance. Select the date you wish to visit when requesting materials via your Aeon Request Account. Learn more about using Aeon. For remote reference inquiries please continue to email speccoll@library.ucsc.edu

Your Aeon Request Account

Everyone, regardless of affiliation, may use Special Collections & Archives. 

We ask that you register and create a researcher request account, if you haven't already done so, before accessing materials in the Reading Room, requesting reproductions or permissions.

As a registered researcher in Aeon, the UCSC Special Collections Request System, you can submit requests for items to view in the Reading Room, place orders and submit payment via credit card for reproductions of materials, access information about past requests and procure permission for which we own copyright.

Your registration constitutes an agreement by you, the researcher, to comply with the Library's stated policies for use of its materials. Your registration remains active for one year, and can be renewed from your Aeon account.

Our physical materials must be viewed in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room; they do not circulate.

When visiting the Reading Room please bring with you a government-issued ID such as a current UC Santa Cruz photo ID (for current UC Santa Cruz affiliated researchers), or a driver's license, passport, U.S. military ID, permanent resident card, or state identification card.

UC Santa Cruz Affiliate Researchers include current students, faculty, and staff with an active CruzID.

Starting at the Aeon Registration Page, click the "UCSC Affiliate Researchers" Login option. 

Enter your Gold CruzID and password (you will need to enable push notifications in order to proceed).

Read our policies page (link) and then fill in your contact information.

You can now start requesting materials.  You can use the left hand menu and request uncatalogued materials, use an OAC (Online Archive of California) finding aid, Library Search or Digital Collections.

Non-UC Santa Cruz Researchers include those who are not a current student, faculty or staff with an active CruzID.

Starting at the Aeon Registration Page, click the "Guests and Alumni" Login option.

On the next page select First Time Users.

Create a login and password, then read and agree to our policies. You can then fill in your contact information and start requesting material. 

The First Time Users link can be hard to see, it is under the Forgot Password link. 

 

Using your Aeon Request Account

There are many types of requests you can place using your Aeon account.  The links below will take you to pages with more explanation about how to use your account.  Please email us at speccoll@library.ucsc.edu  if you have any questions about placing requests, reference inquiries or other Special Collections and Archives usage.

Use Public Domain Digital Collections Images for Free

Special Collections & Archives welcomes you to use materials in our Digital Collections that are in the public domain and protected under fair use. Items in Digital Collections are available from the UC Santa Cruz Library and are intended to support research, teaching, and private study.

The publication or use of any work protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use for research or educational purposes requires written permission from the copyright owner. Responsibility for obtaining permissions and for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Please use the More information + link found below each image to view copyright information.