Latin American & Latino Studies Research Guide

Find Archival Documents

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times. Focuses exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history in the U.S.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, and are indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery. Focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history of the United States.
Colección Revolución, 1910 – 1921 This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. This collection was formed by members of the Historical Research Commission of the Mexican Revolution and covers and reproduces many files under the guard of the General Archive of the Nation.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through twentieth century archival documents This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime (1898-1958). The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
Foreign relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries — with coverage of the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Users will find memoranda, cables, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and more. Formerly World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

Find Newspaper Articles

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides full text content from the world's top news resources for current news coverage. International news sources. Date coverage varies, 1977 - present.
International Newsstream includes the following databases:

Asian Newsstream - Publications include The Wall Street Journal Asia, China News and The Bangkok Post
Australia and New Zealand Newsstream - Combines content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and APP newswires
European Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream - Includes Spanish and Portuguese language titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela
Middle East and African Newsstream - Sources include The Jerusalem Post, the Gulf Daily News, Kuwait Times, Cape Times, and Yemen Times, among many others
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and academic journals of the ethnic and minority press. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808–1980 This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of English- and Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language. For researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection provides full text content for local, regional, national and international news sources. Include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Provides a map-based interface to search and sort. Coverage date vary, 1978 - Current.

University Library

Latin American & Latino Studies Research Guide

Find Archival Documents

Find Newspaper Articles

Land Acknowledgement