Latin American & Latino Studies Research Guide

How to Use This Guide

This guide includes the library's resources in Latin American & Latino Studies:

The tabs include resources/databases for:

Primary Sources - Archival collections, news sources
Articles & Books - Journal Articles and books
Topic Overviews & Bibliographies - Background information, focused handbooks, encyclopedias etc.
Writing & Citing - Resources for writing better papers

Below are quick links to databases:

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of 55 academic journals and hundreds of scholarly eBooks focused on Latin America. Note, current journal issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list in JSTOR for information on years of coverage.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Database of citations to scholarly articles and documents covering Central and South America, Latin America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include political, economic, and social issues as well as arts and humanities.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-current) This link opens in a new window
Database contains citations for articles, books, and book chapters in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Compiled by the Modern Language Association.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Provides high-level overviews of scholarship to navigate new areas of study and selectively-curated, highly-credible sources offer the advanced resources needed for continued research in various area of expertise.
UCSC access includes the following subject areas: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Chinese Studies, Cinema And Media Studies, Classics, Ecology, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, History, Latin American & Latino Studies, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies, among others.

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Request a one-on-one
with a librarian by Zoom

Need help refining your research question(s)?

Ideas Mapping (2:53 min.)
This video helps with organizing many ideas into independent research questions and logical starting points.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Latin American & Latino Studies Research Guide

How to Use This Guide

Get Research Help

Need help refining your research question(s)?

Land Acknowledgement