The resources on this page go beyond Google Scholar and Library Search. The resources on this page cater to a specific audience, in this case those who study History
APPROACHES TO SEARCHING AND RESOURCES TO USE:
- Browsing specific and key Academic Journals.
- Searching across thousands of sources (including the key journals) in a Database.
- Finding databases on your own.
Note: Blend approaches 1 and 2 to get a diversity of perspectives.
Approach 1. Browsing Academic Journals. We use these when we're learning the ways others have researched a topic, the questions they are asking; the arguments they are making. An academic journal will provide a forum for research in a specific field. Often, we cite the articles contained in journals in our research papers. Often, these have downloadable PDF attachments.
Approach 2. Searching in a Database. We use these when we're conducting serious research on a topic. We do this because we want to see what other scholars/authors have researched and written outside of just one key journal and across a specific field of study or discipline and sometimes across the divisions (Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences). These databases use "Get it at UC"
Note: In addition to the journals listed above, other journals will appear in the results of your database searches.
Book-focused databases (broader in focus)
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
Journal article-focused databases (narrower in focus)
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™ covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and academic journals of the ethnic and minority press. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowCoverage dates back to 1970 and includes academic, gray, and popular literature titles. Subject focus is gender roles; GLBT, family, and women's studies with interdisciplinary approach.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-current) This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in sociology and social psychology.
America History and Life This link opens in a new windowThis database provides citation and abstracts of journal articles and book reviews in History, covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. For all other geographic areas, see Historical Abstracts database.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-current) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Approach 3. Finding databases on your own. Because this guide was developed in consultation with your professor, if you're not finding what you need from the resources here, talk to your professor or a librarian (using Ask Us button or contact on Home on this page). To find out about other databases, use these links:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.