CRES 101: Research Methods and Writing in Critical Race and Ethnic Studies

Primary sources

OVERVIEW

In addition to visiting a Special Collections and Archives, primary sources can also be found online. Digitized primary sources are often made available for free online through libraries or other organizations; digitized primary sources are also exclusively available through library databases (unless you're able to travel to the institutions that hold the originals). These databases might be focus on a format type, subject, or theme. When using library databases, you will need to log in using the Campus VPN or your CRUZ ID and gold password.

RESOURCES TO TRY:

Calisphere This link opens in a new window This database includes digital collections from California's libraries, archives, and museums and contains photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, media, and more. All ten University of California campuses, and other libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state, have digitized and contributed collections.

Oral History Research and Resources (UCSC Guide)

African American Communities This link opens in a new window Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Covers early 19th century - beginning of the 21st century.
News & Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window This database provides current and historical newspapers from across UCSC's collection of Proquest databases, including Historical Newspapers, Black Newspapers, Ethnic NewsWatch, International Newsstream and others. Access to these databases is ongoing.
Federal Digital System (FDsys) This link opens in a new window Full-text government information available from Federal agencies, the Executive branch, Congress, and the Judicial branch. Includes the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, as well as Congressional hearings, reports and bills, the U.S. Code and Supreme Court decisions. Replaces former GPO Access.
HeinOnline Academic Core Plus This link opens in a new window Database featuring government document and legal research. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law. Offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to statistical sources on the Web. Coverage: Annual volumes can be searched by individual year or all years from 1929 to present.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Tool to visualize data and create thematic and interactive maps with raw data contained in this database. Includes current and historical census data and demographic information from: Entire US census (1790-latest available)American Community Survey (ACS) (2005-2018)Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) (1980-2010) - Census on religion in the USsee complete list here.See Guide for help getting started.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

CRES 101: Research Methods and Writing in Critical Race and Ethnic Studies

Primary sources

Land Acknowledgement