Chicago citation style uses two style: the Notes-Bibliography system and the Author-Date system. The Author-Date system is similar to the APA in-text citation style while the Notes-Bibliography system uses footnotes or a Notes page with a shortened citation for in-text citations, with a full citation provided in the Bibliography. When quoting another source, make sure you also provide a page number. Check in with your instructor regarding which Chicago style they require for their class. Remember that every source that you cited in-text or within the footnotes/endnotes of your document should be included in the alphabetical Bibliography/References page.  

One author 

Umoja Noble (2018) describes how algorithms in search engines can be used to reinforce oppressive societal structures. 

Algorithms used in search engines can be used to reinforce oppressive social structures (Umoja Noble 2018).

Multiple authors 

If a work has two authors, then include both names every time the reference occurs in the text.

Anzaldúa and Keating (2002) propose that ...

...was their focus (Anzaldúa and Keating 2002). 

If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the reference list; in the text, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”).

(Tagawa et al. 2023)

One author Footnote

1. Safiya Umoja Noble, Algorithms of Oppression (New York: New York University Press, 2018), 4-5. 

One author Endnote

3. Umoja Noble, Algorithms of Oppression, 4. 

Multiple authors Footnote

If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”).

10. Michihito Tagawa et al., "Hemophagocytic syndrome in a cat with immune‐mediated hemolytic anemia," Veterinary Clinical Pathology 52, no. 2 (2023): 313-319, https://doi.org/10.1111/vcp.13176

Multiple authors Endnote

23. Tagawa et al., "Hemophagocytic syndrome in a cat," 315. 

The References or Bibliography page is your works cited page. Citations in your references should be numbered and listed in alphabetical order by author last name. For more than one work by the same author, list the earliest publication first. The following citations follow guidelines set for the Notes-Bibliography system. For more information on guidelines for the Author-Date system, you can visit the Chicago Manual of Style Author-Date: Sample Citations.

 

Authored book

Hooks, Bell. Where We Stand: Class Matters. New York:Routledge, 2000. 

Book chapter

For a chapter in an authored book, include the editor(s) name and title of the book the chapter is found within. 

Wilkerson, Isabel. "1914-1919 The great Migration." In Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019, edited by Ibrahim X. Kendi and Keisha N. Blain, 303-308. New York: One World, 2021.

Ebook

Zalta, Edward N., ed., The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Stanford University, 2019. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/

Government report 

United States National Center for Environmental Health. Ask A Scientist: How Loud is Too Loud? Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2020. Online Comic, https://www.cdc.gov/nceh/hearing_loss/toolkit/comic.html (Accessed October 3, 2023). 

 

Journal Articles

In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL/DOI or the name of the database. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors, list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.

Journal article with a DOI 

Cotera, María. "Nuestra Autohistoria: Toward a Chicana Digital Praxis." American Quarterly 70, no.3 (2018): 483–504. https://doi.org/10.1353/aq.2018.0032

Journal article without a DOI, from a print journal or database 

Littletree, Sandra and Cheryl A. Metoyer. "Knowledge Organization from an Indigenous Perspective: The Mashantucket Pequot Thesaurus of American Indian Terminology Project." Cataloging & Classification Quarterly 53, no.5-6 (2015): 640-657.​

Newspaper article 

Zafar, Nina. "Wendy Osefo is a Professor, Political Commentator and Philanthropist. She's also the Newest 'Real Housewife.'" The Washington Post, October 3, 2020. https://www.washingtonpost.com/arts-entertainment/2020/08/03/real-housewives-potomac-wendy-osefo/ 

For a source that does not list a date of publication or revision, include an access date.

Web page with author listed 

Bleacher, Lora and Sandra Jones. "NASA Astronaut, Crewmates Reach Space Station for Science Expedition." September 15, 2023. https://www.nasa.gov/press-release/nasa-astronaut-crewmates-reach-space-station-for-science-expedition

Web page with a group author

Asian Americans Advancing Justice. "Equitable Educational Opportunities." Accessed October 3, 2023. https://www.advancingjustice-aajc.org/equitable-educational-opportunities

Blog posts 

Generally, blog entries are cited only as notes. If you frequently cite a blog, however, then you may choose to include it in your bibliography.

Alese, Whitney. "In Renaissance, Beyoncé Makes Culture Reckon with Blue Ivy." Medium (blog), September 25, 2023, https://thereclaimed.medium.com/in-renaissance-beyonc%C3%A9-makes-culture-reckon-with-blue-ivy-2e336ff9dcca

 

Podcasts 

Iyer, Deepa. "Truth Telling From the Banks of the Ohio River." Produced by the Building Movement Project. Solidarity is This. September 3, 2023. Podcast, MP3 audio, 00:21:08. https://solidarityis.org/our-work/solidarity-is-this-podcast/pastepisodesofsit/2023sit/sit0923/

YouTube or other streaming video 

Bayat, Asef. "From Tahrir to Tehran - The Arab Spring and Iran Uprisings." Rethinking Iran. February 28, 2023. Video, 1:01:15. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzxqJ0ePCSs

Social Media 

Posts on social media will often be cited only as notes, though if you intend to discuss the content in depth, you should also put a citation in the bibliography. Private content, such as a direct message or a post in a restricted-membership group should be cited as a personal communication. Do not include more than 160 characters in this section of the citation; if the post is longer than that, cut it off (with an ellipsis) before the 160-character mark is reached. 

The Authors Guild (@AuthorsGuild), "It's #BannedBooksWeek! Book banning obstructs the right to read and publish freely and makes it harder for professional writers...," X post, October 2, 2023, https://twitter.com/AuthorsGuild/status/1708874563990217151

Films

Haj, Maha, dir. Personal Affairs. 2016; Paris, France: Sophie Dulac Distribution, 2017. DVD.

TV series episode (single episode) 

Barris, Kenya, writer. Black-ish. Season 3, episode 12, "Lemons." Directed by Kenya Barris, featuring Anthony Anderson, Tracee Ellis Ross, and Yara Shahidi. Aired January 11, 2017. Wilmore Films; Artists First; Cinema Gypsy Productions; ABC Studios.

Indigenous oral knowledge 

It is not explicit in the Chicago Manual of Style how to cite Indigenous Knowledge and Elders. The following template is based on the Kwantlen Polytechnic University guide on Indigenous Studies and the section on Citing & References. 

This requires an in-text citation and an entry in the bibliography list.

Footnote:

1. First Name Last Name of Elder, Nation, Topic/subject of communication if appropriate, Personal communication, Territorial acknowledgment of where the information was shared, Month Date, Year.

Bibliography:

Last Name, First Name of Elder, Nation. Topic/subject of communication if appropriate. Personal communication. Territorial acknowledgment of where the information was shared. Month Date, Year.

For the Author-Date system, a modification of how to cite personal communication is provided below for use when citing traditional indigenous knowledge. As noted previously, Chicago does not provide specific guidance on how to cite this sources of information, therefore we encourage you to seek out alternative approaches that may work better for your needs.

In-Text Parenthetical Citation:

(First Name Last Name, nature or format of communication, Month Day, Year)

Reference List Entry:

Last Name, First Name. Year. Nature or format of communication, Territorial acknowledgment of where the information was shared.

 

 

For more in-depth assistance regarding citations and citing sources, the resources linked below provide information on formatting a paper, integrating citations, and how to cite less commonly cited sources of information. 

 

**Please check with your instructor to ensure that they will accept the use of AI generated content as a source of information. 

AI generated content is continually evolving and citation styles for this type of information may also change over time. As of September 2023, below are the guidelines provided by the Chicago Manual of Style Online. 

You do need to credit ChatGPT and similar tools whenever you use the text that they generate in your own work. But for most types of writing, you can simply acknowledge the AI tool in your text (e.g., “The following recipe for pizza dough was generated by ChatGPT”). If you need a formal citation, for author-date any information not in the text would be placed in a parenthetical text reference.

In-Text
When prompted with “Is the left brain right brain divide real or a metaphor?” the ChatGPT-generated text indicated that although the two brain hemispheres are somewhat specialized, “the notation that people can be characterized as ‘left-brained’ or ‘right-brained’ is considered to be an oversimplification and a popular myth” (ChatGPT, March 7, 2023).

Footnote/Endnote

1. Text generated by ChatGPT, OpenAI, March 7, 2023, https://chat.openai.com/chat.

If the prompt hasn’t been included in the text, it can be included in the note:

1. ChatGPT, response to “Explain how to make pizza dough from common household ingredients,” OpenAI, March 7, 2023.
 

Do not cite ChatGPT in a bibliography or reference list unless you provide a stable, publicly available link. Though OpenAI assigns unique URLs to conversations generated from your prompts, but those can’t be used by others to access the same content (they require your login credentials), making a ChatGPT conversation like an email, phone, or text conversation—or any other type of personal communication.