Legal Studies Research Guide

Primary Sources of Law

Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
Database for finding case law, statutes, regulations, and research law-related issues. Find U.S. Supreme Court and Federal court cases, court cases from California and other states appellate and supreme courts and law review articles and other secondary sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Formerly LexisNexis Academic
HeinOnline Academic Core Plus This link opens in a new window
Database featuring government document and legal research. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law. Offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.

News & Newspaper Sources

Newspaper databases aid discovery of articles based on a few keywords. Use the ADVANCED search to confine results by the source title.

New York Times (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the New York Times. From Proquest.
Wall Street Journal (1984-current) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Wall Street Journal. From Proquest.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Formerly LexisNexis Academic
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection provides full text content for local, regional, national and international news sources. Include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Provides a map-based interface to search and sort. Coverage date vary, 1978 - Current.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Legal Studies Research Guide

Primary Sources of Law

News & Newspaper Sources

Land Acknowledgement