Legal Studies Research Guide

How to Use This Guide

This guide includes the library's resources in Legal Studies.

The tabs include resources/databases for:

Articles & Books - Journal articles and books relevant to Legal Studies/Law
Primary Sources - Court Cases, Statutes, Newspaper articles
Topic Overviews & Bibliographies - Background information, synopses, and curated bibliographies
Writing & Citing - Resources for writing better papers

Below are links to quick links to databases:

Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
Database for finding case law, statutes, regulations, and research law-related issues. Find U.S. Supreme Court and Federal court cases, court cases from California and other states appellate and supreme courts and law review articles and other secondary sources.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles in both popular and scholarly journals from a wide range of subjects
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.

Other Library Guides Related to Law

Laws & Regulations
by Lucia Orlando Last Updated Apr 1, 2024 156 views this year

Court Cases
by Lucia Orlando Last Updated Apr 5, 2024 196 views this year

Government Info: California, State, and Local Resources
by Lucia Orlando Last Updated Apr 1, 2024 1392 views this year

Government Info: Federal Resources
by Lucia Orlando Last Updated Apr 1, 2024 49 views this year

Need help refining your research question(s)?

Ideas Mapping (2:53 min.)
This video helps with organizing many ideas into independent research questions and logical starting points.

Ask Us

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library