Legal Studies Research Guide

Login Instructions

To Search the resources and databases linked on this guide, you'll need to enter your CRUZ ID and Gold Password when prompted.

Go to Nomad and install the browser extension. This extension will make getting access to articles seamless.

For more help, visit the Online Access Guide.

Supplemental Databases

HeinOnline Academic Core Plus
Consult Law Journal Library from HeinOnline home page to find law review articles. Law review articles ALWAYS cite court cases and are valuable sources when looking at legal concepts and issues.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index (1914-current)
This database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information across the social sciences and government. It provides citations and abstractions for journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-current)
The database provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Find Articles & Books in Academic Databases & Catalogs

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
UC Library Search
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
Google Scholar
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.
JSTOR
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Project MUSE
Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.
Periodicals Archive Online
Arts, humanities, and social sciences – full-text scholarly journal archives. The contents is indexed in Periodicals Index Online
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
This is the FirstSearch version: A union catalog, it enables you to search the holdings of libraries across the country and internationally.
Catalogs generally contain: books, journal titles, sound recordings, movies, newspapers and so on.

eBooks in Law and Legal Studies

UCSC subscribes to several ebook packages that can be searched using either Cruzcat or Melvyl (above). Below are the packages that include economics and finance.

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
Searchable and browsable electronic book collection. Includes university press titles in all subject areas.
Wiley Online Library
Database of journals, reference works, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, & humanities.
Springer LINK
Searchable full-text database of articles in over 400 journals, mostly in the sciences. Now includes over 20,000 ebooks.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library