Economics Research Guide

Login Instructions

To Search the resources and databases linked on this guide from your laptop, you'll need to enter your CRUZ ID and Gold Password when prompted.

Go to Unpaywall.org and install the browser extension. This extension will alert you when there is an accessible version of the paper.

Another alternative is to install the campus VPN for more reliable access. Login so that you can access PDF attachments and ebooks from behind paywalls.

VPN Client Installation
Use this secure and reliable login to access the Library's resources. You will need to install the VPN and login with your CRUZ ID and Gold Password. Use Ask Us to let us know if something isn't working.

Journal Articles

Find articles (scholarly and secondary), working papers, conference proceedings, book chapters, and reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles from scholarly business journals, popular business magazines, and trade publications. Publications include: Economist (abstract only), BusinessWeek, Harvard Business Review, Investor’s Business Daily.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citations, with some abstracts, of literature in economics from journals, essays, proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.
World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 1200 World Bank publications and working papers, searchable by keywords, title, and author.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
Bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet

Find Articles & Books in Academic Databases & Catalogs

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Arts, humanities, and social sciences – full-text scholarly journal archives. The contents is indexed in Periodicals Index Online
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This is the FirstSearch version: A union catalog, it enables you to search the holdings of libraries across the country and internationally.
Catalogs generally contain: books, journal titles, sound recordings, movies, newspapers and so on.

News & Newspaper Sources

Newspaper databases aid discovery of articles based on a few keywords. Use the ADVANCED search to confine results by the source title.

New York Times (1980-current) This link opens in a new window Full-text of the New York Times. From Proquest.
Wall Street Journal (1984-current) This link opens in a new window Full text of the Wall Street Journal. From Proquest.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Indexes Wall St. Journal and national, regional and local news sources. Use the ADVANCED search to confine results to a newspaper title
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes the New Yorker. Use the ADVANCED search to confine results to a newspaper title

eBooks in Economics

UCSC subscribes to several ebook packages that can be found with library search or Melvyl (above). Below are the packages that include economics and finance.

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable electronic book collection. Includes university press titles in all subject areas.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Database of journals, reference works, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, & humanities.
Springer LINK This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text database of articles in over 400 journals, mostly in the sciences. Now includes over 20,000 ebooks.

Working Papers

National Bureau of Economic Research
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
Conference Board
full text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, ethics and corporate governance, HR, and forcasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions. 1995-present

World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 1200 World Bank publications and working papers, searchable by keywords, title, and author.