How can I get a high resolution image?

If you need an image at a resolution higher than the one available on our website, you must submit a reproduction request. We will review your request to ensure it meets our requirements for reproduction.

Requests must:

• Support the research, teaching and learning mission of the University of California

Requests cannot:

• Seek to duplicate an inordinate portion of the material
• Violate U.S. copyright law
• Infringe on restrictions imposed by the donor of the material

Submit your request through the Reproduction Order/Request Form on the UCSC Special Collections Request System . This request form constitutes an agreement that you will not reproduce, transfer, distribute, broadcast, publicly display, offer for sale, or otherwise use or publish any material subject to copyright, or a portion thereof, in excess of fair use [2], as defined by copyright law [3], without the express permission [5] of the copyright holder.

How can I tell who owns the copyright of an image?

To view Copyright of an item: Click the More Information + link below each image in the Digital Collections.​ 


Many of the materials held by UCSC Special Collections & Archives may be protected by United States Copyright Law and/or by the copyright laws of other countries. Copyright law protects unpublished as well as published materials. While UCSC Special Collections & Archives owns the materials in our collections, we typically do not own the copyright to these materials, except where it has been explicitly transferred to the UC Regents, or when the material was created by the university.​ 


We also have a small number of materials that are in the public domain.  


What are the restrictions on the use of these materials?

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. 


Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of fair use, that user may be liable for copyright infringement. 


Many of the materials held by UCSC Special Collections & Archives may be protected by United States Copyright Law and/or by the copyright laws of other countries. Copyright law protects unpublished as well as published materials. While UCSC Special Collections & Archives owns the materials in our collections, we typically do not own the copyright to these materials, except where it has been explicitly transferred to the UC Regents, or when the material was created by the university. 


UCSC Special Collections & Archives cannot grant or deny permission to publish or otherwise distribute material whose copyright it does not hold or material deemed to be in the public domain. Provision of copies of materials in UCSC Special Collections & Archives does not imply permission to utilize materials in excess of fair use. The researcher is solely responsible for determining the copyright status of materials and, if necessary, obtaining permission to use material from the copyright holder. Written permission from the copyright holder is required for publication, distribution, or other use of copyrighted items beyond that allowed by fair use. 


UCSC Special Collections & Archives cannot facilitate requests for permission on behalf of the researcher, and is unable to conduct copyright searches or counsel users in the application of copyright law. Upon request, we may provide available rights contact information, subject to the privacy needs of our donors. UCSC Special Collections & Archives does not warranty the accuracy of such information and shall not be responsible for any inaccurate information. 


Downloading Low-Resolution Images

You can access and download low-resolution images for free from the Digital Collections.

When using these images, please credit them as: Courtesy Special Collections & Archives, [collection name]

The publication or use of any work protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use for research or educational purposes requires written permission from the copyright owner.

Two ways to request images from Special Collections and Archives

1. From the Order History pulldown menu Select Electronically Delivered items
2. On the next page click on the title of the item you have requested
3. Find and click on the View Item button on the next page
4. Use the download button in your viewer to download your request

If there are any issues with the above directions, use these instructions:

5. Click on the Order History menu
6. Select Request History
7. Click on the item title
8. Select View Item from the top menu
9. Use the download button in your viewer to download your request

If your viewer doesn't give you the option to download, right click on the image in order to save it to your computer.

Requests are kept on our server for 30 days before they are automatically deleted. If you choose the Delete option on your requests it is truly deleted and you will need to place a new request.

We ask that all reproduced and published items (in print or electronic format) be credited as follows: "Courtesy Special Collections, University Library, University of California Santa Cruz. [collection name]".

Policies on Copyright and Giving Credit

All reproduced and published items (in print or electronic format) must be credited as follows:

If copyright is held by the Regents of the University of California:
© Regents of the University of California. Courtesy Special Collections, University Library, University of California Santa Cruz. [collection name]

If copyright is held by another organization or individual:
Courtesy Special Collections, University Library, University of California Santa Cruz. [collection name]

You must not use the name of Special Collections & Archives, the UCSC University Library, or UCSC in any manner which creates any false association between you and the image, materials, Special Collections, the Library, and/or UCSC, or that incorrectly implies any sponsorship or endorsement by Special Collections, the Library, UCSC, or any third party rights holder.

Special Collections & Archives may request a complimentary copy of any publication or reproduction using Special Collections materials.

If you are the copyright owner and believe our website has not properly attributed your work to you or has used it without permission, we want to hear from you. Please contact speccoll@library.ucsc.edu with your contact information and a link to the relevant content.

Permission Granted Only for UC Regents-Owned Copyrighted Materials

Request materials owned by the University of California:

1. Log in to your Aeon account.
2. Select "New Permissions Request" under the "New Requests"
3. Provide a description of the item you wish to publish.
4. If known, include the primary file name with your request.
5. Include details about the project in which the item will be used.
6. Submit your request. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

Providing copies of materials from UCSC Special Collections & Archives does not imply permission to use them beyond the scope of fair use.

Researchers are solely responsible for determining the copyright status and, if necessary, obtaining written permission from the appropriate rights holder for publication, distribution, or any use beyond fair use.

Copyright Guidelines for Non-UC Owned Materials

For materials not owned by the University of California, researchers are responsible for identifying the copyright holder and requesting permission directly. Special Collections & Archives is only able to grant permission for materials in which we, on behalf of the Regents of the University of California, hold the rights.

Providing copies of materials from UCSC Special Collections & Archives does not imply permission to use them beyond the scope of fair use. Researchers are solely responsible for determining the copyright status and, if necessary, obtaining written permission from the appropriate rights holder for publication, distribution, or any use beyond fair use.