OVERVIEW
To go beyond basics like UC Library Search and Google, try out the following approaches.
Three approaches to try:
Approach 1. Journal by Journal. If databases feel overwhelming, visit the webpage of a specific journal. These provide the option to browse the contents of a journal's run. Some provide a search option, which searches across the entire run for the journal.
If you're struggling to find relevant resources, browse or search these if only to see the layout of a journal, including the table of content and the components of an article. Article titles and abstracts are useful for understanding how authors communicate their research.
Approach 2. Database Searches. To scale up your searches in a specific subject area, try a database. Databases offered by the UCSC Library generally include academic journal articles. They include features for sorting and filtering your results, such as by year or by subject. They often include a filter for peer review, which will help you easily identify academic research articles among other types of articles.
Some databases include the full article in them. Others require you to use a link to pursue the full text in another resource. If you're not finding the full text in a database, look out for this clickable link 
(Get it Now) to access it elsewhere.
Journal article-focused databases (narrower in focus)
Book-focused databases (broader in focus)
Approach 3. Finding databases on your own. Your course overlaps with many disciplines not covered here. Because this guide was developed in consultation with your professor, if you're not finding what you need from the resources here, talk to your professor or a librarian (using Ask Us button or contact on Home on this page). To find out about other databases, use these links:
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA