Skip to Main Content

How to Use the Library Search Tool

Find Books & E-Books

To limit your results to Books and eBooks, choose the resource type "Books".

Note: You can also limit your results to printed books (no eBooks) by choosing "Show only: Print Books and Journals at UC".

UC Library Search books limit

 

To limit your search to E-Books:

  • Select the additional limit "Show Only: Available online"

UC Library Search ebooks

Find Articles with Full Text

You can use Library Search to locate articles on your topic.

From your search results, choose "Resource Type: Articles"

For articles available online, also choose "Show Only: Available online"

UC Library Search Articles

Important: Be Sure to Sign In

Signing in via the campus VPN or Off-Campus Access will allow you to:

  • Connect to pdfs, videos, and eBooks owned by UC Santa Cruz

Cisco VPN Logo

For more info: See Access Library Resources from On-Campus and Off-campus

 

Signing in to My Library Account will allow you to:

UC Library Search Login Links

  • Renew books and videos
  • Create favorites lists
  • Place Interlibrary Loan requests
  • Export citations to Endnote, Bibtex, and RIS
  • View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)

See "Library Account Access" for Sign In help

Select a Search Scope

UC Library Search allows you to select which of the library's sub-collections you'd like to search via a drop down menu in the search box

UC Library Search Scopes

Articles, books, and more:
The UC Library collections including books, journals, articles, newspapers, images, and more.  UCSC-owned materials are at the top of the results list.

Course Reserves:
Items that are on reserve by course name, course number, or instructor.

Special Collections & Archives:

Books, archival collection guides, digital collections and other materials in UCSC Special Collections.

WorldCat:

Books, dissertations, video and audio materials and more from libraries around the world.