Skip to main content

University
Library

Writing Tutors: Library Resources

How to search

Some key tips when searching online for articles:

  • Keywords— Before you dive into your research, look at the different components that make up your research topic and make a short list of the key terms for each concept.

  • Built-in Help feature—This will often provide a quick overview of how to search

  • Advanced search option—Most databases default to a very basic search box. A more advanced/expert search will often allow for more precise and efficient searching.

*TIP Don't reinvent the wheel! 
Search your article database for items from the bibliographies that occur at the end of journal articles or in books that you've already found on your topic.

Citation Linker

Citation Linker 

Use Citation Linker, on the library homepage, to locate journal articles, book chapters, etc. from a citation.  

Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Tutorial

  Take the  Academic Search Complete Tutorial!

  

The Academic Search Complete Tutorial provides an introduction to this multidisciplinary database that includes articles and resources from a broad range of topics, many with full text. After completing this tutorial you'll be able to:

  • describe what Academic Search Complete covers
  • conduct and focus a basic search
  • view full text if available
  • cite and email search results to yourself

Additional Article Databases for Writing Students

How Do I Find the Article?

Once you have your list of citations and abstracts, your next step will be to locate a copy of your article.

Some article have immediate full-text links; for others try the     icon to search for full text:

       Find Full text

 

Need more help? Check out the Navigate Search Results in Any Database (pdf) and Use UC-eLinks guides.