ENVS100: Ecology & Society

Key Reference Sources

Use the Background tab to find other sources to get you going with your research

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find more info about hot topics and contemporary issues
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Complete full text of database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources environmental studies

CRS Reports
Research reports from the Congressional Research Service covering a variety of topics: foreign policy, environment, trade, etc.
--Open source non partisan, authoritative reports

Journal Articles

Goals for using a scholarly journal database:

Search journal articles using one of the databases listed below
Save the citation information of each source
Download copies of each article or Request them through InterLibrary Loan.
Click UC-eLinks to locate copies of the source

When you're off campus, you will be prompted to log in using the UCSC campus VPN. You must download and install the configuration software in order to take full advantage of this secure way of logging in.

Other Databases (depending on topic)

E&E News This link opens in a new window
E&E (Environment & Energy) News is composed of five daily publications that track energy, environmental, and climate policy, including ClimateWire, E&E Daily, E&ENews PM, and Greenwire. Also includes E&ETV and topical reports. Subscription does Not include EnergyWire.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
All aspects of human impact on the environment from scholarly, governmental, and general-interest sources. Content includes climate-change science and policy, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.

Proquest Databases
Peer reviewed articles, newspaper sources, and general interest publications in the social sciences/environmental studies

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.

Other Research Tools

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.

Locate a source using a citation reference (helpful for tracking citations not found in a standard library database):

Citation Linker
Locate a resource with a citation

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library