University Library

Access Library Resources from Off-campus

What is it?

The Campus VPN, or virtual private network, is a secure (encrypted) connection to the UC Santa Cruz network from off-campus.  

Connect from Off-Campus

How do I use the Campus VPN to access databases, journals, and e-books from off-campus?

  • "Quick Start" instructions for Windows, Mac, and Linux:
  1. Have your CruzID and Gold password available
  2. Download and install Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client
  3. After launching the VPN client, type vpn.ucsc.edu into the "connect" box
  4. Log in with your CruzID and Gold password.
  5. Use our A-Z list of databases, or search Cruzcat

 

What if I can't use the Campus VPN?

Troubleshooting Campus VPN

I'm having problems using or installing the Campus VPN

 

I’m being asked to log in to a journal or database

  • You shouldn’t have to log in to journals or databases when you are using the Campus VPN
    • Exception: SciFinder Scholar - see details below
  • Make sure you are actually logged in to the Campus VPN and reload the page
  • Check Cruzcat to make sure the journal is in our collection
  • Ask a Librarian for help

 

I can’t log in to SciFinder Scholar

  • You need a username and password to access SciFinder Scholar Web, in addition to using Campus VPN or OCA Proxy

Register for a SciFinder Scholar username and password:

  1. Log in to the Campus VPN or OCA Proxy
  2. Go to the SciFinder Registration page
  3. Use your ucsc.edu email address to register for a SciFinder Scholar username and password

ITS Support Center

Campus VPN vs. OCA Proxy

We recommend using the Campus VPN for accessing library resources from off-campus.

If you are unable to use the Campus VPN, an alternative is OCA Proxy.

Access Library Databases

On-Campus

Off-Campus

Find a Database

magnifying glass

  Article Databases

 

Search Databases by Title:

Find Online Journals

Online Journals by Title:

 

A-Z List
Browse by subject

Ask a Librarian

Ask a librarian

In Person | Phone | Email | Chat