Books with Unique Loan Restrictions
Laptops and Other Equipment
Video Game Collection
Special Collections & Archives
Visual Resource Collection
Media Center Collection
Off Campus Access to Online Resources
The State of California Information Practices Act of 1977 (effective July 1, 1978) requires the University to provide the following information to individuals who are asked to supply information about themselves.
The University Library requests your information for the principal purpose of processing your application for library privileges. The California Public Records Act and the California Information Practices Act both recognize the need of the University to gather information to conduct business necessary to the administration of the University.
Furnishing specifically designated information is mandatory in order to obtain library privileges - failure to provide such information will delay or may even prevent completion of the action for which the library card application form is being filled out. The information on the application form may be shared with campus, University, State, and/or Federal agencies in accordance with applicable regulations, laws, or business needs.
Individuals have the right to review their own records in accordance with University personnel policy, collective bargaining agreements, and the California Information Practices Act.
Information on applicable policies and agreements can be obtained from the Chancellor’s Office, Academic Human Resources, or University of California Office of the President.
The Library requests the following information from its borrowers:
This information is required to obtain library privileges. The Library keeps this information confidential.
The Library notifies borrowers of this policy during the Library Card registration process.
The Library provides the following services to all patrons:
Failure to receive a courtesy or overdue notice does not stop the billing process.
There are a few ways to access online library resources from off-campus. We recommend using the campus VPN to access these resources. UCSC students, faculty, emeriti, and staff with a current library account are eligible for the remote access service.
If you choose to login via the library proxy server, you can either use your CruzID gold password, or you can use your library barcode number. If you login using your library barcode number, it must be activated with the library before you can use this service. You may activate your library barcode number in the following ways:
For more information and to log in, please refer to the Off Campus Access page.
The University Library of the University of California, Santa Cruz, serves the instruction and research objectives of University faculty, students, and staff. Our Borrowing Policies define the access level, privileges, and responsibilities of individuals who borrow or make use of the University Library collections and resources.
As a state-supported public institution, the University Library strives to make the materials in its collections as available as possible to the users in the community and state, while simultaneously fulfilling its primary obligation to the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) campus and the University of California (UC) system.
The borrowing area served by the University Library is defined as the state of California. With the exception of UC faculty, staff, students, and UCSC Summer Conference participants, individuals must be at least 18 years of age and present proof of California residency (ID or driver's license) to receive a library card.
Reserve items circulate to UCSC students, faculty, staff and concurrent students only.
Patrons who are not eligible for borrowing Reserve items, but who are auditing a UCSC class may check out Reserve items for that class if they have a letter from the instructor who put the material on reserve and they have obtained a "courtesy" card.
Reserve Item Loan Period
The loan period for items designated as reserves is determined by the instructor who placed the material on reserve. Reserve items may be loaned for one of the following time periods:
Reserve items are due on the hour, and must be returned to the Reserve Desk from which they were borrowed.
Instructors and teaching assistants who placed an item on reserve may request to borrow that item for a longer time period.
Reserve Item Renewals
Reserve items must be renewed in person at the Reserve Desk from which they were borrowed. Reserve items may not be renewed by phone or online.
Reserve Item Bookings (Holds)
End of the quarter holds may be placed in person at the Public Service Desk.
Reserve holds are not accepted by telephone or via the online library system.
For further information, please refer to the webpage: Course Reserves
Current UCSC students, faculty, and staff may borrow laptops, and Chromebooks from the Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk and the McHenry Library Circulation Desk. The S&E Library has one gaming iPad to check out. They are available on a first-come, first-served basis. They may be reserved one day in advance. One laptop per person may be checked out.
Printing Your Work
The library also offers other equipment for checkout, including calculators, power adapters, audiovisual adapters, and bicycle locks. For more information and availability, please inquire at the circulation desks.
Protect Collection materials circulate to any patron with a valid UCSC library card . Patrons who do not have a UCSC library card may have on-site access to material in the Protect Collection if they provide staff with a valid picture ID.
The loan periods vary, and are as follows:
Items designated as part of the Protect Collection must be returned to the library desk from which they were borrowed.
Protect Collection Renewals
Material that circulates for 2 hours, 1 day and 3 days may be renewed in person at the Protect Collection unit from which it was borrowed.
Material that circulates for 21 days may be renewed via the online library system, by telephone, or in person at the library desk at the Protect Collection unit from which it was borrowed.
Protect Collection Holds
A hold may be placed at any time for Protect items that are checked out.
The video game collection, which is housed in the Science & Engineering Library, has over 700 games available for check-out, as well as approximately 40 consoles. The materials circulate to UCSC Faculty, Staff, and Students.
The library has a Video Gaming Lab with a selection of both new and old school consoles to play. The keys to use the game lab can be checked out at the Circulation Desk. You can find a list of games and consoles in Cruzcat. Items listed as "S&E GAME ROOM" are library use only.
PLEASE NOTE: checking consoles in and out takes some time; please be aware that the circulation desk closes 15 minutes before the building closes. Leave plenty of time for this transaction.
Games & consoles are subject to fines at full replacement costs plus administrative costs.
For more information, please refer to the Video Games Collection page.
Special Collections and archival material do not circulate but are available for research in the Special Collections unit to all categories of borrowers. Special conditions for use and handling of material, which are posted in the Special Collections unit, must be followed. All researchers must register and show a picture ID to have access to any special collection or archival item.
Researchers are encouraged to call in advance concerning the material they wish to see. Advance notice is required for use of some material in the Special Collections unit so that it can be retrieved from storage.
For more information, refer to the webpage: Special Collections & Archives
All categories of borrowers are eligible to view slides in the Visual Resource Collection (VRC) by appointment.
Slides only circulate to UCSC faculty and students for instructional presentations on the UCSC campus.
Visual Resource Collection Loan Period
The loan period for slides is one week for faculty and their proxies. Students may borrow slides on the day of their class presentation and must return items to the VRC the same day.
Visual Resource Collection Renewals
Faculty may renew slides in person or by phone if no holds have been placed on the items. Students may not renew materials, however, if an instructor reschedules a student's class presentation, VRC staff can place slides on hold for up to one week.
Visual Resource Collection Recalls
Slides that are checked out to another patron may be recalled and held for a requesting user. Patrons should contact the VRC staff to recall specific items. Staff will handle all recall notifications and holds.
For more information, please refer to the webpage: Visual Resource Collection
All UCSC Library borrowers are eligible to borrow material located in the Media Center Collection for viewing in the Media Center. Items may not be removed from the library.
Faculty, faculty proxies and graduate students may borrow items for viewing outside the library. The loan period is 7 days, except when the item is on Reserve for a class. The loan period for items on Reserve is 1 day.
Undergraduate students and UCSC staff may borrow one item at a time for a 24 hour loan period, as part of a new pilot project. The items are not renewable.
Music graduate students may borrow sound recordings for listening outside the library. The loan period is three days. Items on reserve for a class may not be borrowed.
Media Center Renewals
Media Center materials may be renewed online, in person, or by phone. Items checked out as part of our Circulating Collection pilot program (running Winter 2014-Winter 2015) may not be renewed.
Media Center Bookings
Faculty and their proxies may book Media Center items to be checked out on a certain date. Bookings may also be done for items on reserve for students to view in the Media Center. Bookings are accepted by email, phone, or in person. Please request bookings as far in advance as possible--this will help ensure that items are ready for you when you need them.
For more information, please refer to the webpage: Media Center