Skip to main content

Lending Code

Borrowing Eligibility

UCSC Faculty, Staff, and Students

Your Library Card
Your UC Santa Cruz photo identification card is your University Library card. You can go through your department office manager or supervisor to set up payment then go to ID card services next to the Baytree Bookstore to get the picture ID card. ID cards are produced on the spot.

Expiration Dates
Expiration dates coincide with the term of employment. If there is no expiration date (career status), cards expire yearly.  You can call the circulation desk to renew your card for another year and update any contact information.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • Long term loans
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Remote access to licensed databases
  • Reserves
  • Interlibrary loan (must activate barcode with the library first)
  • Film and Music Collection
  • Proxy Library Cards

For Faculty
Proxy borrowing cards permit UCSC faculty to designate individuals of their choosing to borrow library material in their name to support faculty research.

  • A proxy card application completed and signed by the faculty member needs to be presented to the Library Circulation staff at either library. The proxy must have a picture ID to set up the account and must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Proxy accounts do not expire but faculty can view current proxies in the messages section of their library account.
  • To remove proxies from one's account, faculty must email library@ucsc.edu, call a Circulation desk, or stop by a Circulation desk in person to make this request.
  • The faculty member is responsible for any damaged, lost, overdue, or recalled material checked out on the proxy card.
  • The library recommends limiting the number of proxy card holders to three in order to more easily manage your account. 
  • Remote access to electronic resources requires a CruzID gold login. Non-affiliated proxy borrowers will need a hosted sundry account in order to gain remote access. For details on sponsoring a sundry account, please visit this page.

For Students
UCSC students who are registered with the Disability Resources Center (DRC) may have a proxy and can apply for a proxy card at either the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk.

Your Library Card

Your UCSC paper or photo identification card can be made into a University Library card. 

Expiration Dates
Expiration dates coincide with the term of employment. If there is no expiration date (career status), cards expire yearly.  You can call the circulation desk to renew your card for another year and update any contact information.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • Long term loans
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Remote access to licensed databases
  • Course Reserves
  • Interlibrary loan (must activate barcode with the library first)
  • Film and Music Collection
Your Library Card
  • Student ID cards also serve as your Library card.  Undergraduate library accounts are renewed quarterly based on current registration*.
  • Library cards are considered valid through the summer if the student was registered during the Spring Quarter.
  • Graduating students' privileges expire at the end of the quarter during which they graduate.
  • ADA students refer to the proxy borrower section above.

*Students whose registration is delayed will need a current quarter sticker in order to update their library accounts.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • General collection materials for 1 full quarter
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Remote access to the databases
  • Interlibrary Loan (must activate student ID barcode at the library first)
  • Course Reserves
Your Library Card
  • Student ID cards also serve as your Library card.  Graduate library accounts are renewed quarterly based on current registration*.
  • Library cards are considered valid through the summer if the student was registered during the Spring Quarter.
  • Graduating students' privileges expire at the end of the quarter during which they graduate.
  • ADA students refer to the proxy borrower section above.

*Students whose registration is delayed will need a current quarter sticker in order to update their library accounts.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • General collection materials for 2 full quarters
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Remote access to the licensed databases
  • Interlibrary Loan (must activate barcode with the library first)
  • Course Reserves

Concurrent enrolled students, students taking one class at the university but through the University Extension program, are eligible for library cards.

Your Library Card
  • Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks upon presentation of a receipt marked, "Library Fees Paid", either a paper copy or email.
  • Privileges granted are the same as for Undergraduates.
  • The library card will be valid until the end of the current quarter.
Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Remote access to the databases
  • Interlibrary Loan (must activate barcode with the library first)
  • Course Reserves

Other University of California Borrowers

Your Library Card

Issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of a valid University of California identification card*. The library cards are valid for the borrower's term of employment or the annual expiration date listed on the borrower's UC identification card.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • Long term loans
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Interlibrary Loan

*UC Benefits may be called if the borrower is a retiree and has no annuitant card (800-888-8267)

Your Library Card

Issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of a valid University of California identification card*. The library cards are valid for the borrower's term of employment or the annual expiration date listed on the borrower's UC identification card.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • Long term loans
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Interlibrary Loan
Your Library Card
  • Card issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of a current UC identification card and verification of current enrollment.
  • This category of borrower's UCSC Library privileges are considered valid for one quarter.
Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Reserves
Your Library Card
  • Cards are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of a current UC identification card and verification of current enrollment.
  • This category of borrower's UCSC Library privileges are considered valid for one quarter.
Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 1-year loans (rotating)
  • Unlimited borrowing
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Reserves
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks upon presentation of proof that he or she is a retired UC employee. The library card will expire at the end of each academic year.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout

Borrowers from Other Academic Institutions

Persons enrolled in University Extension courses, courses taught through the extension program that is not associated with UCSC like concurrent students, are not eligible for a library card. They welcome to join the Friends of the Library (at the student fee) to receive limited borrowing privileges. 

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk. Patron must live in the state of California. Patron will need a current ID from the home campus or an introductory letter on institutional letterhead stationary, and a picture ID. Library cards are valid until the end of the current academic year and are eligible for renewal.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks upon presentation of a letter from a Cabrillo College Librarian. The library card will be valid for the duration of the research project, as indicated on the letter.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout

Cabrillo students who want extended borrowing privileges are welcome to purchase a Friends of the Library card at the student rate.

Stanford University faculty, academic staff, graduate students, and doctoral students participating in the Stanford University Reciprocal Program are eligible for library privileges at UCSC.

Your Library Card

Library cards for this category of borrower are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of a valid Reciprocal Services Card. The expiration date on the card issued to this category of borrower should match the expiration date on the borrower's Reciprocal Services Card.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • Extended loans (contact the Circulation Desk for information about your particular loan period)
  • Unlimited borrowing

Note: UCSC faculty, staff, and graduate students are also eligible for reciprocal borrowing privileges at Standford. Please come to either of the circulation desks with your university ID to fill out an application.

Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk. Patron must have a signed letter from an appropriate administrator (such as a principal or vice principal) on institutional letter head, and a valid picture ID.

If the card is issued in the months of January-August, it will be valid through Sept. 30 of the current year. If the card is issued in the months of September-December, it will be valid through Sept. 30 of the following year.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks upon presentation of a current staff ID card, or a Dominican card marked "Volunteer."

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Upon presentation of a current Lawrence Livermore Laboratory employee ID card, lab employees will be issued a courtesy card which will be valid for one year.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout

Friends of the Library and Courtesy Borrowers

Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at the McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of a picture ID with a current address and matching utility or other household billed item with the same address. Payment can be made in the form of a check or credit card (no money orders please) of the appropriate Friends of the Library fee, or upon presentation of proof of membership in the Friends of the UCSC Library. You must be 18 years of age or older to purchase a Friends of the Library card. The expiration date is one year from the date of issue, or expiration of Friends membership. Renewals can be made online or in person at our Circulation Desks.

Note: When applying in person, Friends of the Library accounts will be limited to 3 checked out items for the first two weeks of membership. 

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
  • Off-campus access to the ProQuest Research Library

Note: Lifelong Learners (OLLI members) are eligible for library borrowing privileges by purchasing a Friends of the Library card at the student rate.

Immediate family includes a spouse or domestic partner and children over the age of 18 who are living at the same address as the UCSC faculty or staff. Library cards for this category of borrower are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk.

Your Library Card
  • The family member must be accompanied by the UCSC faculty or staff member, OR
  • The family member must have a letter on letterhead stationary from the requesting UCSC staff or faculty member, AND have a current picture ID. 
  • The expiration date will match the faculty or staff member's library account expiration date.
Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of proof of membership in any regular UC Alumni Association and a picture ID. Library cards will be given a yearly expiration date and can be renewed annually by showing a photo ID at the Circulation Desk. You must have attended the university for some period of time to become a member of the UC Alumni Association. To find out more, go to Services for Alumni.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
  • UCSC alumni can request off-campus access to the ProQuest Research Library through the UCSC Alumni Association
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at the McHenry Library or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desk upon presentation of proof of current membership in a University of California Religious Council and a picture ID.  Library privileges are valid until the end of the current academic year and are eligible for renewal.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout

Chancellor's Associates Chancellor's Associates (Silver/Gold)
Chancellor's Circle Redwood Circle

Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks. Privileges are valid through the expiration date on the donor card. Applicants must show a picture ID.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Visiting scholars must provide proof of association with UCSC by presenting a letter on institutional letterhead from a UCSC faculty member or department office. Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks. The card is valid for the period of time described in the letter or until the end of the current academic year.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

Library cards are issued at McHenry or Science & Engineering Library Circulation Desks upon presentation of proof that he or she is a retired UCSC employee. The library card will expire annually.

Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout
Your Library Card

The Head or Director of each summer conference program may request borrowing privileges. The program will be required to accept responsibility for all material checked out by participants in the program.  Notify the library in writing or email circulation@ucsc.edu with the following information:

  • The subject of the program and confirmation that the program is academically affiliated with UCSC
  • The name and contact information for the individual responsible for all material checked out to the participants in the program
  • The start and end dates of the program
  • A list of all eligible participants
Borrowers are eligible for the following:
  • 3-week loans
  • 25 item checkout

Library borrowing privileges must be approved by the University Librarian or designee. Privileges granted must comply with licensing/vendor contracts.