Social Documentation Research Guide

Signing in and Primary Sources Information

I'm using primary sources as a catchall for sources that capture a period in time. Most of these databases require Signing in. The VPN offers the most robust/securest connection. More info about the VPN or other methods for logging in can be found here:

Off Campus Access and Campus Wifi (Eduroam) Info

A full list of UCSC databases is available here. Use the Database Type filters to see Newspapers, Primary Sources, or Videos:

A-Z Databases
Directory of Databases UCSC subscribes to or owns.

Special Collections & Archives and Digital Collections

For information about Special Collections & Archives and accessing physical collections at UCSC go here:

Special Collections and Archives
Access to physical collection is unavailable at this time.

For access to the Digital Collections derived from UCSC Collections and other California Libraries and Museums go here:

OAC Online Archive of California This link opens in a new window
A resource that provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
This database includes digital collections from California's libraries, archives, and museums and contains photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, media, and more. All ten University of California campuses, and other libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state, have digitized and contributed collections.

For access to a broad range of primary sources, use the Library's Digital Collections hosted by vendors. Below is a sample of Library-provided databases. If you'd like to trial a database that is not currently in our collection, contact us at research@library dot ucsc dot edu (For the full list of primary source and newspaper databases at UCSC Library, use the A-Z database link above ^ and filter by Database Types):

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes historical coverage of 7 major U.S. newspapers. Newspapers and dates of coverage included: Chicago Defender‎ (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1997), Washington Post (1877-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1996), The New York Times‎ (1851-2016), Wall Street Journal‎ (1889-2002), Washington Post (1877-2003).

Note new content is sometimes added and will occassionally change the end dates.
Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. As a young man in the 1960s, Baraka (then known as LeRoi Jones) galvanized a second Black Renaissance, the Black Arts movement. The ideological and political transformations of Amiri Baraka from a Beat poet in Greenwich Village into a militant political activist in Harlem and Newark was paradigmatic for the Black Revolt of the 1960s. Covers 1960-1988.
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 2,000 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, including previously unpublished manuscripts. This also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Social Documentation Research Guide

Signing in and Primary Sources Information

Special Collections & Archives and Digital Collections

Land Acknowledgement