Jewish Studies Research Guide

Connect from Off-Campus

To access online resources on this page (including online media, journal articles, databases, etc.):

Sign in with your Cruz ID when prompted, or
Login by session at Online Access Guide, or
Install the Nomad extension for seamless access to UCSC-subscribed journal articles.

Databases for Primary sources

Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
This resource explores the history of Jewish communities in America bringing to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole. Includes collections from organizations, personal collections, and rare materials.
Testaments to the Holocaust
An Archives Unbound collection. Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party. In German. Covers 1889-1965.

Related free Web source. Note this is a good example of primary document collections freely available on the web.

Gershwind-Bennett Isaac Leeser Digital Repository
Correspondences (letters) and other primary sources of Isaac Leeser (1806 -1868), an architect of 19th century American Jewish life. A Jesselson-Kaplan American Genizah Project.

Find additional primary materials

The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust
Call Number: S&E Stacks G1797.21 .E29 G58 2009

Related free Web sources

Yiddish American Popular Sheet Music
Genealogy Research Guide - Center for Jewish History
Center for Jewish History Collections Catalog
Searches across multiple partner institutions and provides some online content.

Find multimedia (films, audio/sound, images)

Video and Music Online Collections
Search across the Video and Music Online Collections from Alexander Street Press. To search individual collections, click the My Collections drop down menu and make your selection.

Related free Web sources

Sephardic Music: A Century of Recordings
Recordings of Sephardic music, from the 78 rpm era to the present.
Folk Literature of the Sephardic Jews
A multimedia archive of ballads and other oral literature in Judeo-Spanish collected from 1957 to 1993 by Samuel G. Armistead (UC Davis), the late Joseph H. Silverman (UC Santa Cruz), and Israel J. Katz
Oral histories - Jewish Family and Children's Services
Includes excerpts of oral history interviews.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library