Global and Community Health

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Reference books online. UCSC provides access to the collections for: Archaeology, Business & Management, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
This databases integrates four bibliographies (Click move for details). Topics covered: the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Bibliographies include: Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States This link opens in a new window
Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Identify or learn more about appropriate methods to design and conduct research and analyze results in Social Sciences and Health fields. Provides project planning support, case studies outlining research methods, downloadable teaching datasets, and full-text ebooks detailing specific methodologies. Includes practical information about research design, writing literature reviews, and grant writing. Access to video content is not included.

Writing Help

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a great place to get help writing. Also check UC Library Search for materials on scholarly or policy writing, and the UCSC Writing Center.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Global and Community Health

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

Writing Help

Land Acknowledgement