Global and Community Health

Data Sources for Global & Community Health

United States Resources

Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN)
Provides resources and support for clinicians working with migrant farmworkers, focusing on health equity and advocacy.

National Center for Farmworker Health (NCFH)
Offers research, training, and advocacy for improving the health of farmworkers and their families.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) – Agricultural Safety
Includes information on occupational health risks for farmworkers, such as pesticide exposure and heat-related illnesses.

Farmworker Justice
Advocates for farmworker rights, focusing on health, safety, and policy initiatives.

National Farm Medicine Center
Conducts research and provides resources on the health and safety of farmworkers and their families.

California Resources

California Rural Legal Assistance, Inc. (CRLA)
Provides legal services to address issues impacting farmworkers, including health and safety.

California Farmworker Foundation (CFF)
Offers health programs for farmworkers, including COVID-19 resources, wellness initiatives, and health education.

La Clínica de La Raza
Provides affordable health care to underserved populations, including migrant and seasonal farmworkers in Northern California.

UC Davis Western Center for Agricultural Health and Safety (WCAHS)
Conducts research and training on occupational health and safety for farmworkers in California’s agricultural sector.

Pesticide Action Network (PAN) North America – California Office
Focuses on reducing pesticide exposure among farmworkers and advocating for safer agricultural practices.

Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS)
Operated by NOAA (the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), IOOS supports efforts to monitor, assess, and predict changes in coastal and ocean ecosystems. These efforts are critical for informing public policy that promotes human health, particularly in ocean and coastal communities. One of the key features of the site is the IOOS Data Portal, which provides access to a wide range of environmental and oceanographic data. This includes information on water quality, ocean temperatures, and coastal hazards, such as harmful algal blooms or storm surges, which directly impact public health. The site also highlights how data is used to support resilience in ocean communities by tracking changes over time and providing tools for decision-makers.

NSF/NIEHS Centers for Oceans and Human Health

Organized by the National Institute of Environmental Health and the NIH. This site provides an overview of current research on oceans and human health topics.

The Centers:

SOPHIE Project (Seas, Oceans, and Public Health in Europe)
This European initiative explores the links between oceans and human health, aiming to inform policy challenges and promote cooperation and research in this field. Their policy briefs and reports are valuable resources for understanding the European perspective on these issues.
Pacific Ocean Alliance OPOC
This initiative, led by Pacific nations, emphasizes sustainable ocean management to enhance economic and health outcomes. It includes case studies and data on marine ecosystems’ role in food security and public health.
Australia's Integrated Marine Observing System (IMOS)
IMOS collects marine data to support scientific research and public policy development. It addresses issues like coastal erosion and marine heatwaves, which have direct and indirect effects on community health.

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Compare counties in California and across the U.S. across a variety of indicators: health, environment, safety, housing, healthcare access, etc.
California Department of Health Services Open Data Portal
Presents data on births and death, teen births, AIDS survival rates and deaths, maternal and child health. Includes some data by zipcode.
Vital Statistics of California
Births by age and ethnicity of mother; deaths by cause, age, and sex. Includes population projections
Also in print: McH Ref Desk HA261.C351

National Center for Health Statistics
ncludes births and deaths, leading cause of death, drinking, cancer and other health topics.
Select Publications and Information Products to find other comprehensive reports (e.g. National Vital Statistics), and series, data warehouse, and fact sheets, etc.
NIH Health Disparities Database
Research portal of health services research resources providing numerous Internet links to data, funding announcements, reports, podcasts, discussion groups, and more.
NLM Index of Datasets
Links to datasets curated by the National Library of Medicine.
USAspending.gov
Data on government spending including contracts, grants, and other assistance. Includes names of assistance recipients, contractors, and the contracting agency.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to statistical sources on the Web. Coverage: Annual volumes can be searched by individual year or all years from 1929 to present.

NHANES - National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
NHANES is conducted by the CDC and provides a wealth of public health data, including on Type 2 diabetes, gathered through interviews and physical examinations. It offers rich demographic breakdowns on health behaviors, conditions, and risk factors.

WHO Global Health Observatory
Explore global health data by theme or country.
Health, Nutrition & Population from The World Bank
Data dashboard of health & population indicators. Browse by indicator or search the health or population databases separately.

OECDiLibrary This link opens in a new window
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) online library - Ebooks and reports covering both OECD member and non-member countries. Topics include social services, migration, economic outlook, food situation, and many other economic indicators. For more statistical tables see OECDiLibrary Statistical Tables portion of this site.

DHS: Demographic & Health Surveys
The DHS Program collects data that are comparable across countries. Surveys include malaria, HIV, and demographics
Global Burden of Disease (GBD) Compare
Interactive visualization database of diseases, injuries and risk factors. Data available globally, regionally by country or U.S. state as well as sex and age. Provided by Univ of Washington Institute for Health Metrics and EvaluationData is 1990-2019.
Global Health Data Exchange
Comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from Univ of Washington Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
The BRFSS includes data on health risk factors such as chronic disease, diet and lifestyle, substance abuse, and other health risk indicators throughout the country. From the Centers for Disease Control.

Data & Statistics (Health and other data)

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
(Note: online version of American Public Opinion Index). Compilation of 14,000+ surveys and polls conducted in the U.S. and 80+ other countries from 1986 to the present. Each record includes question, responses given, and sources.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Tool to visualize demographic data and create thematic and interactive maps with raw data contained in this database. Includes current and historical census data.
ICPSR Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences (U.S. & International data). Health data includes health interview surveys, substance abuse data, lifestyle, access to services, poll results, physician surveys, etc. Note that some health data is restricted-use (requires specific approval for access) to preserve confidentiality.

Some data files may be analyzed online. To download files or analyze online you must create your own login. For files requiring specialized software, check with your departments for access
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to statistical sources on the Web. Coverage: Annual volumes can be searched by individual year or all years from 1929 to present.

Google Public Data Explorer
Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Includes visualizations for data from the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and more.
Data.gov
Find datasets produced by federal agencies.

University Library

Global and Community Health

Data Sources for Global & Community Health

Data & Statistics (Health and other data)

Land Acknowledgement