Global and Community Health

Key Reference Sources

Use the Scholarly Topic Overviews and Handbooks tab to find other sources to get going with your research

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
For medical articles - this is the place to go. For the most up-to-date access to peer-reviewed articles on an incredible variety of biomedical topics, including medical research, genetics, bioinformatics, physiology, oncology, nursing and more. If you don't see the Get it at UC button in the Abstract display, you are not in the customized UC version!
Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides a one-search experience across the Proquest Social Sciences-related databases (includes public affairs, politics, sociology, psychology, etc.)

Keywords & Glossaries

Major terms and definitions of global and community health related keywords

Keywords For... (series) Freely available essays that define & contextualize terms.

Disability Studies
American Cultural Studies
See the web essays for Body, Intersectionality, and Naturalization

Need help refining your research question(s)?

Ideas Mapping (2:53 min.)
This video helps with organizing many ideas into independent research questions and logical starting points.

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Request a Consultation
with a librarian by phone or Zoom

Improve your search terms with this video

Follow the advice in this video to avoid the pitfalls of library database searching. One of these frustrations is Zero results, even though you know what you're looking for. Spend 3 minutes learning about the 3 ways (broadening, narrowing, and synonyms) you can avoid getting stuck. A good rule of thumb: Databases have different audiences of readers, so be flexible with your search terms throughout your research.

To follow along with the video:

Have pen or paper (or save your work as a file).
Use the breaks in the video to write your own answers.
If your search terms continue to present problems talk with your professor or TA or contact a librarian.

Crafting A Savvy Search Strategy (3:25 minute video) - This video provides strategies for expanding your keyword list.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library