Skip to main content

University
Library

Events + Workshops

Digital Scholarship Research Symposium

May 29th, 2020

At UC Santa Cruz, students are engaged in creative, critical research using digital tools and platforms.  The Digital Scholarship Research Symposium provides students an opportunity to present their digital projects in a professional setting and to show their project in its functioning form. This allows students to engage in a scholarly setting with their colleagues, faculty, and other academic professionals and receive meaningful feedback about their projects. The event includes opening remarks by Elizabeth Cowell, the Richard L. Press University Librarian Presidential Chair; 3–7 minute lightning talks by UCSC students, and a special lecture and round table events hosted by the DSC.

Digital Scholarship Research Symposium 2020 Presenters:

undefined

The Norris Center Archives

Saul Villegas
UCSC Undergraduate, Porter
svilleg6@ucsc.edu

Introducing photographs of the specimen collection from the Kenneth S. Norris Center for Natural History to the UCSC campus in an artistic way channels creativity through themes in Art and Natural Science. The Norris Center Archives project centers around highlighting specimens in a visually stimulating way. Using the principles and elements of design, the subjects photographed will be viewed in an exciting contemporary digitized style. In producing this work, the intersectionality of these subjects aimed for students in all majors can be beneficial to the university, its libraries, and collections. Encouraging experimental academic growth and discovery, propelling the arts and sciences as a collective.

Related website: https://www.modernobysaulvillegas.com/norris-center-archives-project


 

Man in front of a fire and holding a sign that says "Nueva Constitucion o Nada"

Chile at the Threshold

Human Rights investigations Lab, UC Santa Cruz
Research Center for the Americas
hrlab@ucsc.edu

Presented by: Angie Valencia, Emma Chaidez-Torres, Monica Estrada, and Yoselyne Cerros

The Human Rights Investigations Lab at UC Santa Cruz launched in Fall 2019 and this is one of the first open source investigations the research team completed.  We are students affiliated with the Research Center for the Americas, and we spent seven months conducting this investigation.  We embarked on this investigation aspiring to use our open source skills in the pursuit of social justice.


A crane in the rubble after the Loma Prieta earthquake

Stories from the Epicenter

Daniel Story
UCSC, Digital Scholarship Libarian
dstory@ucsc.edu

Thomas Sawano
​UCSC Undergraduate
tsawano@ucsc.edu

Madeline Carpou
UCSC Undergraduate
mcarpou@ucsc.edu

Stories from the Epicenter is a ten episode documentary podcast about the experience and memory of the Loma Prieta Earthquake in Santa Cruz County, California. It is a production of the UCSC University Library in partnership with the Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History and Santa Cruz Public Libraries. In this panel, the UCSC team discusses the project, the process of collaborating, and some of the unique opportunities and challenges of working in this particular digital medium. The podcast is planned for release in October 2020.


Crowded crosswalk in Tokyo

Urban Development & Sprawl in Tokyo

Felix Vazquez
Environmental Studies, Oakes
fevazque@ucsc.edu

Urban Development & Sprawl in Tokyo is my senior thesis project done in completing my degree in Environmental Studies. It is a passion project designed to understand the elements that make up the street networks that serve as a city's skeleton. This study explores Tokyo street networks at a variety of scales through the use of Geographic Information Systems and Google Earth VR Street View.


Seeds of something different website screenshot

Seeds of Something Different: The Online Exhibit

Alessia Cecchet
Graduate Student, Dept. of Film and Digital Media
alcecche@ucsc.edu

In this presentation, I will walk the audience through the making of the online Exhibit for Seeds of Something Different. This project, that was developed in the span of two years, serves as a companion to the homonymous book and as a gateway to the University Archives held at McHenry Library.

Related website: https://exhibits.library.ucsc.edu/exhibits/show/seeds/home