University Library

About General Collections

Project Description

In support of the Envision UCSC Goal: Student Success, during summer 2016, the University Library initiated the Science & Engineering Collection Project: 

What is the Science & Engineering Collection project?
Can I still access all of the books and journals that I need?
How did the library decide which print materials to keep onsite?
What happened to the books removed from the library?


What is the Science & Engineering Collection project?

The project is step one in part of our larger goal to create a space that strongly supports student success in the sciences and engineering fields. During Summer 2016, the Library created much needed open and accessible space for our growing student population by removing duplicated and low use print materials from the Science & Engineering Library. 

Can I still access all of the books and journals that I need?

Yes! The highest use items are still in the Science & Engineering Library on the lower level of the building. Most of our journal subscriptions are available online. Many of our books are also available online as eBooks. You can access online books and journals directly through the Cruzcat catalog either on campus or remotely using the campus VPN.

Additionally, as a member of the University of California community, you have access to the circulating print collections of all of the other UC libraries. Needed materials not held on site or online are available through Interlibrary Loan from UC campus libraries or libraries outside of the UC system. 

How did the library decide which print materials to keep onsite?

The library collects data about use of the collection:

  • Checkout data (the number of times a book was checked out)
  • In-house use (the number of times a book was removed from the shelf by a library user and not reshelved by the user)
  • Online use (this includes downloads and views of PDFs and eBooks, time spent in an ebook, and amount copy/pasted and printed from eBooks)
  • Publication date (when was it published? how recently did we purchase it?)
  • Uniqueness of the title (how many libraries own it? is it in one of the UC library storage facilities (NRLF, SRLF)? how accessible is it? is it digitized? do we license it online?)

For the Science & Engineering Collection project, we used the data described above and kept on site: titles with recent usage, titles unique to the UC libraries and/or libraries in the world, recently published/purchased titles, titles on reserve and in the Science & Engineering protect collections.

What happened to the books removed from the library?

Materials that had recent usage and/or were recently purchased were relocated on the lower level of the Science & Engineering Library. Rare and unique materials were moved to UCSC Special Collections in McHenry Library. Reserves and Protect Collection items were not part of the project are located behind the S&E circulation service desk.

Some of the removed titles were sent to shared print archives to ensure that they are preserved and available for scholars into the future. Titles from the Science & Engineering collection project went to the following shared print archives:

Low use titles that were already held in print archives, held in the UC Libraries print storage facilities (NRLF & SRLF) or duplicated in multiple UC libraries and beyond, were recycled.