University Library
Come work with a dedicated and supportive group of colleagues on a gorgeous campus nestled in the redwood forest and overlooking the Pacific Ocean.
UCSC values diversity, equity, and inclusion and is committed to hiring faculty and staff who share these values. The University Library strengthens the UCSC academic enterprise by providing, presenting, and preserving a wide range of information resources. We utilize innovative approaches in working with faculty and students to help them discover, use, manage, and share the array of information that supports their research, teaching, and learning. Please read more about the University Library and our Strategic Directions here.
Project Archivist, Dolores Huerta Foundation
The University Library at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) in collaboration with the Dolores Huerta Foundation, invites applications for a project archivist to support a three-year project to process the personal papers of Dolores Huerta as well as the records of the Dolores Huerta Foundation. Under the direction of the Head of Special Collections and Archives, the successful candidate will employ archival standards, tools, and best practices, including inclusive description, to arrange and describe archival collections of varying formats, including born-digital, audiovisual, photographic, and paper materials. The project archivist will also advise on records retention procedures, work with undergraduate and graduate student interns and collaborate closely with project stakeholders including the Foundation staff. The project archivist will be responsible for processing approximately 100 linear feet of archival material as well as approximately 5TB of digital content. The project archivist will work at the Foundation’s offices in Bakersfield, California. Onsite supervision will be led by the Foundation’s Archives Director. The project archivist will remotely report to the Head of Special Collections & Archives and receive additional oversight support from the Supervisory Archivist.
The initial review date is 7/8/2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed consideration.
Applicants are invited to attend an informational webinar to learn more about the position, the Foundation, and the University Library. If interested, please register using the links provided:
The attendee list will be hidden to ensure confidentiality. Live captioning will be provided via Zoom Live Transcript. Inquiries and nominations may be directed to Teresa Mora Head, Special Collections & Archives (tmora1@ucsc.edu).
For additional details and to apply: https://recruit.ucsc.
Cataloging Specialist
The University Library Cataloging Specialist will join the Metadata Services department in the pivotal role of providing accurate descriptions for our unique resources. The cataloger is responsible for providing original and complex copy cataloging in all formats, with a focus on streaming and physical media, as well as database maintenance projects, authority work for general library materials, and serving as a departmental resource for adherence to national and international cataloging standards and local policy. In addition, the Cataloging Specialist is responsible for understanding and applying digital object metadata best practices, specifications, and descriptive standards as needed and where indicated. This position has student assistant supervisory responsibilities, overseeing the work of both the physical processing student workers and digital object metadata processing student workers. The Cataloging Specialist will also serve on relevant UCSC and systemwide committees.
The initial review date is 03/25/2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed for consideration. For additional information and to apply, please visit the job posting.
Student employment opportunities in the Library can be found in the Handshake employment system and Career Center website.
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA