Skip to Main Content

Job Opportunities

Come work with a dedicated and supportive group of colleagues on a gorgeous campus nestled in the redwood forest and overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

UCSC values diversity, equity, and inclusion and is committed to hiring faculty and staff who share these values. The University Library strengthens the UCSC academic enterprise by providing, presenting, and preserving a wide range of information resources. We utilize innovative approaches in working with faculty and students to help them discover, use, manage, and share the array of information that supports their research, teaching, and learning. Please read more about the University Library and our Strategic Directions here

Academic Positions Available

University Archivist

The University Library at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) invites applications for the position of University Archivist in Special Collections and Archives, which will serve under the direction of the Head of Special Collections and Archives. The position leads the development of the UC Santa Cruz University Archives collections and services, with the dual aim of curating the historical records of the campus and extending awareness and use of the collections. A priority for the position will be actively engaging with student organizations and groups to ensure the student experience is included broadly within the Archives. Additionally the University Archivist will establish strong relationships with administrative and academic partners within the Library, across campus, and in the UC system to ensure the proactive and systematic transfer of historical records. The scope of the collection includes historical materials, in any format, that document the history and functions of all areas of the UC Santa Cruz campus.

The initial review date is 12/7/2022. All applications received by this date are guaranteed consideration.

Applicants are invited to attend an informational webinar to learn more about the position, the campus, and the University Library. If interested, please register using the links provided:

  • Wednesday, November 16th, 2022 from 5:00 – 6:00 pm PT (registration)

  • Tuesday, November 29th, 2022 from noon – 1:00 pm PT (registration)

The attendee list will be hidden to ensure confidentiality. Live captioning will be provided via Zoom Live Transcript. Inquiries and nominations may be directed to Teresa Mora Head, Special Collections & Archives (tmora1@ucsc.edu).

For additional details and to apply: https://recruit.ucsc.edu/JPF01408

_______________________________________

Processing Archivist

The University Library at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) invites applications for a Processing Archivist. Under the direction of the Supervisory Archivist, the Processing Archivist will work collaboratively within the department to arrange and describe archival collections of varying formats, including born-digital, audiovisual, photographic, and paper materials. The Processing Archivist provides excellent service to users by promoting and facilitating access to collections through archival processing and by providing regular service on the Special Collections Reference Desk and remote reference services when necessary.

The initial review date is 12/14/2022. All applications received by this date are guaranteed consideration.

Applicants are invited to attend an informational webinar to learn more about the position, the campus, and the University Library. If interested, please register using the links provided:

  • Wednesday, November 16th, 2022 from 5:00 – 6:00 pm PT (registration)

  • Tuesday, November 29th, 2022 from noon – 1:00 pm PT (registration)

The attendee list will be hidden to ensure confidentiality. Live captioning will be provided via Zoom Live Transcript. Inquiries and nominations may be directed to Kate Dundon, Supervisory Archivist (dundon@ucsc.edu).

For additional details and to apply: https://recruit.ucsc.edu/JPF01411

 

Staff Positions Available

Student Positions Available

Student employment opportunities in the Library can be found in the Handshake employment system and Career Center website