Computational Media Research Guide

Article Databases

Publisher Specific:

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable database contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since 1947

Subject Specific:

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images. Incorporates Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Index of citations for articles and conference papers on physics, electrical engineering, computer engineering, and information technology. Contains abstracts.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
Resource for scholarly literature on Western art, covering at least 500 core journals (with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles not covered by other indexes), monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues. Successor to Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Sociological Abstracts (1952-current) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in sociology and social psychology.

Multidisciplinary:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.

National Technical Reports Library
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports. 1964 to present

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Google Patents includes over 87 million patent publications from 17 patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books. Non-English patents are translated, so you can search for them with English keywords.

European Patent Office
Simple searches on bibliographic data in patent documents. The default printing option is page by page only - but they are free. To print an entire patent, follow these instructions: Search for a patent. Click on a title; when the page loads, click on the original document tab. When this page displays, the printer icon is grayed out. Click on Save Full Document at the top of the page. Read the screen and enter the letters shown. The entire document loads now as a pdf and all the pages can be printed.

Already know which article you need? Enter the citation in the Find Items by Citation form to access it.

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

EngrXiv
Open access repository for engineering working papers, preprints and postprints. Hosted on the Open Science Framework (OSF).

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to over one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
eScholarship Repository This link opens in a new window
Includes Open Access journals, working papers, previously published works, conferences, and books from departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California. eScholarship is also serves as a platform for affiliates to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.