Digital Arts & New Media Research Guide

Connect from Off-Campus

To access online resources on this page (including online media, journal articles, databases, etc.):

Sign in with your Cruz ID when prompted, or
Login by session at Online Access Guide, or
Install the Nomad extension for seamless access to UCSC-subscribed journal articles.

Find Articles & Books in Film, Arts, & Humanities Databases

ACM Digital Library
Searchable database contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery periodicals and proceedings since 1947
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images. Incorporates Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-current)
Database contains citations for articles, books, and book chapters in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Compiled by the Modern Language Association.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
The platform includes more than 50K ebooks, 2,600 audiobooks, 30K+ hours of video as well as courses, case studies, and expert playlists providing libraries with access to authoritative content from the foremost experts on business, computer programming and technology. (Replaces Safari)

Multidisciplinary databases

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.
JSTOR
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Project MUSE
Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.

Tools to locate PDFs or request them from our network of libraries

Get it UC shows up in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find PDF attachments of articles, links to ebooks, or information about print books on the shelf in a library. A Request link lets you request PDF attachments or print books from the shelves of other libraries.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library