HIS 194S: Special Topics in Ancient Egyptian History

Who Owns the Past?: Object Lives in the Ancient Near East and Mediterranean

Paper 1 assignment and guide info

Assignment prompt: A research study on the provenance, creation, and function of an object within the original ancient culture. The paper should explore the cultural meaning of the object (religious and social) and describe access to the object (elite vs. non-elite, individual, community, etc.).

How to use this page: The links on this page are UCSC-provided (meaning if you are off campus, you need to use your CruzID and Gold password or the VPN). Some of the links are digitized collections hosted by other organizations and available to uses free, online. These sources were selected by professor Sullivan as the most relevant sources for completing this assignment.

Bibliography Checklist for Chicago (v.5)
This checklist can be used to keep up with expections for your paper's citations and bibliographies (or works cited).

Reference Works (Factual information, timelines, overviews, etc.)

To use the following:

Sign in using your CruzID and gold password to access the ebooks
or note the call number and locate them in the McHenry Reference (library floor map below)

McHenry main floor map

Click to enlarge

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Editor)
Call Number:
McH Ref
DT58 .O94 2001, vols 1-3
Online access is available here.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt by Kathryn A. Bard (Editor)
Call Number:
McH Ref
DT58 .E53 1999
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number:
McH Ref
DE5 .O92 1998
Online access available from the same link.
Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology by Nancy T. De Grummond (Editor)
Call Number:
McH Ref
DE5 .E5 1996 vols.1-2
A Companion to Ancient near Eastern Art by Ann C. Gunter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018

Online Encyclopedias

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology (UEE)
Open version. UEE Full Version available here

Online Handbooks

Oxford handbook of Roman Egypt
Oxford handbook of the archaeology of ritual and religion
See sections on “Religion and cult of the Old World”
Oxford handbook of ancient Anatolia

Museum Collections (Objects, Artifacts, Source material)

British Museum “collections” search of 3.5million objects
Louvre Museum Atlas database of 35,000 objects
Berlin Museum database
Includes the Agyptisches Museum/Egyptian Museum; the Vorderasiatisches Museum/ Museum of the ancient Near East& the Pergamon Museum
Brooklyn Museum Collections Search
You can set this to search objects in the "Egyptian, Classical, Acient Neart Eastern Art" Collection

The Met Collection This link opens in a new window
Database of objects and works of art from the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection

Scholarly Journals

Explore other sources of information

Other Library Research Guides on this subject

Archaeological Institutes

Digital Projects

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library