P2R: Pathways to Research for Undergraduates

Literature search

Use your questions and search terms (keywords) to conduct a literature search in a scholarly database. Goals for using a scholarly database:

Search journal articles using one of the databases listed below
Save the citation information of each source
Download copies of each article or Request them through InterLibrary Loan.
Click UC-eLinks to locate copies of the source

Recommended Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.

Locate a source using a citation reference:

Using Citation Linker
When you have a citation for a reference (book, journal article, etc.), use this form to locate the item. Fill out the form entering the full citation details. Submit this to see full text links to a database or, if there are none, to request this from the library. To avoid delays in your request, you must enter the complete/full citation.

Library Resources/Databases to explore on your own

Library Research Guides
Guides to library collections organized by discipline or course. Plus other helpful guides.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library