Skip to Main Content

HIS 194W: Social Movements in the Modern Middle East

PRIMARY SOURCES and OTHER SOURCE MATERIAL

OVERVIEW

Primary sources that have been digitized can be found through online resources as well as through UCSC-Library databases. Below find a combination of these resources. You'll need to log in to access UCSC-specific databases.

JOURNALISM AND OTHER MEDIA
TOPICAL OR ORGANIATION-SPECIFIC SOURCES

Middle East-specific 

International Organization Reports

Online Books (public domain books)

SECONDARY SOURCES (Academic Books and Journal Articles)

OVERVIEW

The resources on this page go beyond Google Scholar and Library Search. The resources on this page cater to a specific audience, in this case those who study history.

APPROACHES TO SEARCHING AND RESOURCES TO USE:

  1. Browsing specific and key Academic Journals and meet key scholars.
  2. Searching across thousands of sources (including the key journals)  in a Database. 
  3. Finding databases on your own. 

Note: Blend approaches 1 and 2 to get a diversity of perspectives.

Approach 1. Browsing Academic Journals and Meet Key Scholars. We use these when we're learning the ways others have researched a topic, the questions they are asking; the arguments they are making. 

Approach 2.  Searching in a Database. We use these when we're conducting serious research on a topic. We do this because we want to see what other scholars/authors have researched and written outside of just one key journal and across a specific field of study or discipline and sometimes across the divisions (Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences). These may include PDF downloads or use  "Get it Now" to access the source.

Note: In addition to the journals listed above, other journals will appear in the results of your database searches.

Subject-focused databases (narrower in focus)

General-focused databases (broader in focus)

Approach 3. Finding databases on your own. Your course overlaps with many disciplines not covered here. Because this guide was developed in consultation with your professor, if you're not finding what you need from the resources here, talk to your professor or a librarian (using Ask Us button or contact on Home on this page).  To find out about other databases, use these links: