Websites from verifiable News outlets often charge readers to view their articles. As an alternative, the Library provides databases that provide content from various newspapers; these are available to students and faculty by login.
Provides full text content from the world's top news resources for current news coverage. International news sources. Date coverage varies, 1977 - present.
International Newsstream includes the following databases:
Asian Newsstream - Publications include The Wall Street Journal Asia, China News and The Bangkok Post Australia and New Zealand Newsstream - Combines content from Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand, News Limited, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and APP newswires European Newsstream Latin American Newsstream - Includes Spanish and Portuguese language titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela Middle East and African Newsstream - Sources include The Jerusalem Post, the Gulf Daily News, Kuwait Times, Cape Times, and Yemen Times, among many others
(includes Xinhua News Agency, South China Morning Post, Hong Kong Economic Journal, Renmin Ribao, Beijing Zhongguo Xinwen She, SinoCast, and the Standard) — use this database to search across several newspapers
This database provides current and historical newspapers from across UCSC's collection of Proquest databases, including Historical Newspapers, Ethnic NewsWatch, International Newsstream and others. Access to these databases is ongoing.
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.