Government Information by Topic

Data & Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Find statistics about crime and victims, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, etc.
California Crime Data
Statistical data on crimes, arrests, corrections population, probation, and more. From the Attorney General of California.
California Crime: County & City Reports
Criminal justice statistics by California county & city (when available): offenses, crime rates, arrests, offender demographics, etc.
California Offender Information
Statistical information about inmates and parolees in California. Includes demographic reports and projections. From the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.
Crime in California
Scroll to publication year.
Crimes and crime trends, arrests by crime category, prisons and prison expenditures.
Firearms Statistics
Statistics on firearms manufacture and export. State level firearms recovery data. From the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF).
Hate Crime in California
Statistics on hate crimes including type of crime, prosecution rates, and trends in California. Annual report of the Office of the Attorney General of California.
Juvenile Justice Statistical Briefing Book
Statistics on juveniles as offenders and victims, juvenile crime, court statistics, and more. From the US Department of Justice.
Santa Cruz City Crime Statistics
Crime statistics for the City of Santa Cruz. From the Santa Cruz Police Department.
Sentencing Statistics
Statistics on Federal prison sentences including type of offense, offender characteristics, trial data, and more. From the US Sentencing Commission.
Sourcebook of U.S. Criminal Justice Statistics
[No longe updated after 2013) Includes statistics on crimes and victims, as well as public opinion polls. Many tabulations presented by age, sex, race, and geographic area.
TRAC
The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse compiles enforcement and prosecution data from federal agencies including the FBI, ATF, IRS, and ICE. From Syracuse University.
Uniform Crime Reports for the United States
Published by the FBI. Reports crime statistics aggregated from multiple U.S. law enforcement agencies. Includes crime index, violent and property crimes, and hate crimes.

Federal Resources

Federal Bureau of Prisons
Information on Federal prison facilities, programs, policies, inmate demographics, and inmate locator.
Federal Judicial Center
Research and reports on the federal judicial processes, court management, and sentencing.
Office for the Victims of Crime
Information on victim's rights, services, and issues. From the US Department of Justice.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Information on juvenile justice topics including corrections, offenses, gangs, truancy, and more. From the US Department of Justice.
US Courts: the Federal Judiciary
From the Administrative Office of the Courts; links to US Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, District Courts, and Bankruptcy Courts
US Department of Justice
Information on the Attorney General, Bureau of Prisons, and other DOJ agencies.
US Sentencing Commission
Information on sentencing guidelines and federal sentencing statistics.

California Resources

California Courts
Court opinions, rules, jury information, court forms, and more.
California Department of Corrections
The Office of Research at the CDCR includes the Adult Research Branch, Juvenile Research Branch, and Offender Information Services.
Center for Families Children and the Courts
Resources and information on family and juvenile law. Includes juvenile court decisions for 1997 through 2003. From the Judicial Council of California.
Office of the Attorney General of California
Information on justice in California, including victims services, law enforcement, and crime data. Also includes the full-text of the Opinions of the Attorney General of California from 1997 to current.

Articles & Government Resources

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
Catalog of current and historical federal government publications
Crime in California
Scroll to publication year.
Crimes and crime trends, arrests by crime category, prisons and prison expenditures.
CRS Reports
Research reports from the Congressional Research Service covering a variety of topics: foreign policy, environment, trade, etc.
FBI Electronic Reading Room
Full-text of selected FBI records released through the Freedom of Information Act. Topics include espionage, famous persons, gangsters, unusual phenomena, and violent crime.
Juvenile Justice Statistical Briefing Book
Statistics on juveniles as offenders and victims, juvenile crime, court statistics, and more. From the US Department of Justice.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Search the abstracts of over 170,000 publications, or select full text publications to find statistics and information about crime, offenders, etc.
National Institute of Justice Publications Database
Full-text of publications produced by the US Department of Justice or based on studies funded by the National Institute of Justice.
Opinions of the US Office of Legal Counsel
Memoranda and opinions from the Office of Legal Counsel, as delegated by the US Attorney General. Full-text from 1992 to current.
Uniform Crime Reports for the United States
Published by the FBI. Reports crime statistics aggregated from multiple U.S. law enforcement agencies. Includes crime index, violent and property crimes, and hate crimes.

BJS Publications

New publications from the Bureau of Justice Statistics:

Data & Statistics	Federal Resources
California Resources	Articles & Government Resources

University Library

Government Information by Topic

On This Page

Data & Statistics

Federal Resources

California Resources

Articles & Government Resources

BJS Publications

Land Acknowledgement