Statistical Sources

California

Online Resources & Databases:

California Demographic Reports
Collection of detailed information on social, economic, environmental, and physical aspects of California. For historic data, see the California Statistical abstract, 2000-2008 online. Title ceased in 2008. Also in print: McH Ref Desk HA261.C3
California Department of Public Health Statistics
Provides county-level profiles including birth and death data, communicable diseases, HIV, STDs and maternal health statistics

United States

Online Resources & Databases:

Census.Gov
Provides tables and maps of census data for the United States, California, and California counties and cities. Includes population and housing characteristics, age, race, income and poverty.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Tool to visualize data and create thematic and interactive maps with raw data contained in this database. Includes current and historical census data and demographic information from:
- Entire US census (1790-latest available)
- American Community Survey (ACS) (2005-2018)
- Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) (1980-2010) - Census on religion in the US
- see complete list here.
See Guide for help getting started.

International

Online Resources & Databases:

WDI online This link opens in a new window
Includes population growth, birth and death rates, as well as economy and education indicators, reports and statistics from approx 1960 onward.
Public version for current year only: World Development Indicators
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Profiles and Reports This link opens in a new window
Full text of country profiles, providing analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, social, and business environment of more than 180 countries.

United Nations Demographic Yearbook
World population, rate of increase for births and deaths, legal abortions, marriage by age of bride and groom, divorce rates.
Also in print: McH Ref Desk HA17.D45

Print Resources

Statistical yearbook by Department of Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis, Statistical Division
McH Ref Desk HA12.5 .U63

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Statistical Sources

California

United States

International

Print Resources

Land Acknowledgement