Statistical Sources

California

Online Resources & Databases:

California Department of Education Factbook
Provides information on achievement tests, enrollment, ethnic makeup, teacher credentials and experience, number of computers in schools, library resources.
DataQuest
Find statistics about California schools. Most subjects are searchable at the school, school district, county and state level. Provides test scores, course enrollment, dropouts, physical fitness, projected teacher hires, special education, etc.
What Everyone Should Know About Their State's Budget
From the Urban Institute: "State and local governments educate schoolchildren, train the future workforce, care for the sick and elderly, build roads, patrol neighborhoods, extinguish fires, and maintain parks. In short, they’re pretty important." Provides data on spending per-capita and spending per recipient and what is spent on payroll and non-payroll expenses. Categories include education, housing & environment, transportation, medicaid, public safety, social programs, and administration.

United States

Online Resources & Databases:

National Center of Education Statistics
Find the nation's "report card", etc. Brings together multiple education statistics publications, international comparisons.
Condition of Education
Educational enrollment by age, academic performance, attainment by race, earnings of young adults, community and parental involvement.

International

Online Resources & Databases:

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
International statistics compiled by country concerning education, science and technology, culture, media, and libraries. Includes educational enrollment by age and gender, illiteracy rates, etc.
Click on "Database Access" to see largest collection of statistics.

NCES News Feed

What's new at the National Center for Education Statistics:

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Statistical Sources

California

United States

International

NCES News Feed

Land Acknowledgement