Film & Digital Media Research Guide

Movie Reviews (when film was released)

MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Database of movie reviews published at the time of film releases, from newspaper and Internet sources.
News and Newspapers from ProQuest
This database provides current and historical newspapers from across UCSC's collection of Proquest databases, including Historical Newspapers, Black Newspapers, Ethnic NewsWatch, International Newsstream and others. Access to these databases is ongoing.
Access World News
This news collection provides full text content for local, regional, national and international news sources. Include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Provides a map-based interface to search and sort. Coverage date vary, 1978 - Current.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Database with citations from 512 leading U.S. magazines. Covers 1890-1982.

Other Places to look:

Film reviews and review indexes for older films can also be found in the library. The call number range REF PN 1993 to REF PN 1995 in the McHenry reference stacks has numerous multi-volume sets.

Ephemera, Credits, & Box Office Information

Women Film Pioneers Project https://wfpp.cdrs.columbia.edu/

Find specific information about a film

Media History Digital Library (MHDL)
This is a free online resource featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. It's part of the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and supported by grants.
AFI Catalog (1893 - current)
Index of films produced in America or by American production companies
Film Index International
An online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi), it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT).

Magill's Cinema Annual
McH Ref
PN1993.3 M34
Includes discussion and list of reviews for films 1982-
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English language films
McH Ref
PN1993.45.M3 and M32
10 volumes
Discusses individual films by titles
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
McH Ref
PN1997.8 I58
Discussion and list of articles and reviews
IMDb (Internet Movie Database)
Information about film and television series.
Box Office Mojo by IMDbPro
Contains box office receipts by time period and area.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Film & Digital Media Research Guide

Movie Reviews (when film was released)

Ephemera, Credits, & Box Office Information

Find specific information about a film

Land Acknowledgement