Theater Arts Research Guide

Login Instructions

To Search the resources and databases linked on this guide from your laptop, you'll need to enter your CRUZ ID and Gold Password when prompted.

Go to Unpaywall.org and install the browser extension. This extension will alert you when there is an accessible version of the paper.

Another alternative is to install the campus VPN for more reliable access. Login so that you can access PDF attachments and ebooks from behind paywalls.

VPN Client Installation
Use this secure and reliable login to access the Library's resources. You will need to install the VPN and login with your CRUZ ID and Gold Password. Use Ask Us to let us know if something isn't working.

Monologues for Auditions

Monologues are shelved in McHenry General Collection PN2080 (4th Floor)

The following tools help with identifying a scene or play based on your interests. Follow this up by using Library Search to check if the play is available straightaway.

The Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook
Call Number: McHenry Reference PN2080 .H66 2007
Find monologues by specific attributes. Then use Library Search to find and access the full play.

Play Index This link opens in a new window
Find a play based on your keywords. Then use Library Search to find and access the full play.

Productions Details (cast, etc.)

North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new window
Covers information on Canadian and American Theatre. Includes full text of a number of theater reference books, which provide records of plays, people, theatres, productions, and production companies. Limited ephemera included (see Resources).

Related Web resources

IBDB : Internet Broadway Database
official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Internet Theatre Database
the unofficial history of theatre as provided by you and your fellow theatre fans
The Broadway League
official website of the Broadway theatre industry
Playbill's Vault
"The largest Broadway database on the Internet." Free, searchable historical record of performances.
Lortel Archives - Internet Off-Broadway Database
a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.

Recorded Performances

Theatre in Video: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
Online streaming video of more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays and more than 100 film documentaries.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Use this to search UCSC Library's DVD and Video Collection.

Production Extras (posters, handbills, etc.)

North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new window
Covers information on Canadian and American Theatre. Includes full text of a number of theater reference books, which provide records of plays, people, theatres, productions, and production companies. Limited ephemera included (see Resources).

New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939
included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library