Philosophy Research Guide

Connect from Off-Campus

To access online resources on this page (including online media, journal articles, databases, etc.):

Sign in with your Cruz ID when prompted, or
Login by session at Online Access Guide, or
Install the Nomad extension for seamless access to UCSC-subscribed journal articles.

Journal Articles

Philosopher's Index (1940-current)
Contains citations and abstracts from books and journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
PhilSci Archive
This is a preprint server sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association. A preprint server is used by scholars to circulate new work. A preprint is an early version of new work often in preliminary form.
PhilPapers
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, monitoring all sources of research content in philosophy.
PhilArchive
PhilArchive is the largest open access e-print archive in philosophy. It is built on and integrated with the PhilPapers database. Access to items on PhilArchive is free without a user account. PhilArchive is a non-profit project supported by the PhilPapers Foundation.
L'Annee Philologique (APh)
Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
ATLA Religion Database
Database of journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Subjects include church history, theology, the Bible, and world religions.

Multidisciplinary databases

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.
JSTOR
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Project MUSE
Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Philosophy Research Guide

Connect from Off-Campus

Journal Articles

Multidisciplinary databases

Land Acknowledgement