Biology: Ecology & Evolutionary Research Guide

Article Databases

Subject Specific:

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences. Very interdisciplinary within biology, including biochemistry, ecology, genetics, microbiology, ocean sciences, plant biology, and zoology. Can sort by citation count.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of major natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make freely accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections. Great source for older botany and zoology journal articles and books in full-text. See also their Flickr site for over 24,000 illustrations from many of their books: http://www.flickr.com/photos/biodivlibrary/sets/

Multidisciplinary:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Searching with "All Databases" will combine Web of Science, Biosis and Zoological Record. "Cited by" feature allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.

Get It at UC

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

Citation Linker

Already know which article you need? Enter the citation in the Find Items by Citation form to access it.

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

Use your Cruz ID when prompted
- You can login from the Access guide
Use the Nomad extension for quick links to subscription-based full text.

Preprints

bioRxiv
The preprint server for the life sciences. Hosted by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
EcoEvoRxiv
A preprint server for Ecology, Evolution and Conservation hosted on the Open Science Framework.
eScholarship from the California Digital Library
Open Access database of working papers, pre-publication scholarship, and electronic texts by researchers in UC research units, centers, and academic departments.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library