Astronomy & Astrophysics Research Guide

Article Databases

Subject Specific:

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data Systems (ADS) This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts and citations for materials in astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, Los Alamos preprints, and many archives. From Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, under a NASA grant.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Index of citations for articles and conference papers on physics, electrical engineering, computer engineering, and information technology. Contains abstracts.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Describes materials in geology and geophysics, in particular: energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, erosion, nuclear reactor sites, the structure of the earth, and geostatistics. Includes abstracts.

NED: NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
Contains millions of extragalactic objects, including names, positions, basic data, and references to published papers.
SIMBAD
Contains basic data, cross-identifications, measurements, and references to published works for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

Publisher Specific:
These are limited to one or two publishers. Be mindful of what you may be missing!

Optics InfoBase This link opens in a new window
Journals and conference papers published by the Optical Society of America.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, journal and conference articles in optics, photonics, and imaging published by SPIE.

Multidisciplinary:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

Use your Cruz ID when prompted
- You can login from the Access guide
Use the Nomad extension for quick links to subscription-based full text.

Get It at UC

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Astronomy & Astrophysics Research Guide

Article Databases

Connect From Your Computer

Get It at UC

Land Acknowledgement