Applied Mathematics Research Guide

Article Databases

Subject Specific:
See also the subject specific databases in the fields to which your work is applied, e.g. biology, physics, etc.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is the most comprehensive resource for the international literature of mathematics and statistics. Covers approximately 1800 mathematical journals. [1940 - present] Also hosts the Current Index of Statistics (CIS) [1975-2017]

Publisher Specific:
These are limited to one or two publishers. Be mindful of what you may be missing!

SIAM Journals Online - Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text database of journals from SIAM.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards

Multidisciplinary:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.

Citation Linker

Already know which article you need? Enter the citation in the Find Items by Citation form to access it.

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

Use your Cruz ID when prompted
- Easiest when starting from a UCSC Library webpage!
Use the Nomad extension for quick links to subscription-based full text.

Preprints

See also the preprint servers in the fields to which your work is applied, e.g: biology.

arXiv.org
Open access to over one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
eScholarship from the California Digital Library
Open Access database of working papers, pre-publication scholarship, and electronic texts by researchers in UC research units, centers, and academic departments.

Get It at UC

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library